Cybersecurity Team Places Fourth in National CAE-NE Hackathon

On Saturday, Feb. 17, 2023, the IUP Cybersecurity Team participated in the Nation Center of Academic Excellence – Northeast Cyber Competition and secured a fourth-place finish against 10 other cyber teams from US colleges and universities.

New Book by Poole Explores Realities of Refugees in Horn of Africa

Indiana University Press has just released "Hosting States and Unsettled Guests: Eritrean Refugees in a Time of Migration Deterrence," co-written by Amanda Poole, professor of Anthropology at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, and Jennifer Riggan, professor of International Studies at Arcadia University.

Havens and Flint Recipients of Linda Drummond Deabenderfer Scholarship

This year's recipients of the Linda Drummond Deabenderfer Scholarship are Cameron Havens and Debra Flint. Each student will receive a $1,000 scholarship to use towards their educational expenses.

Department of Music Holds 2024 Brass Day

The IUP Department of Music brass faculty hosted the second annual IUP Brass Day on Sunday, February 18, 2024. This year, the Brass Day guest artist was Italian trumpeter Andrea Tofanelli. All IUP brass students, as well as area middle and high school musicians, participated.

Collins Performs at US Army Band Tuba Workshop

Zach Collins, professor of Tuba, recently performed an invited recital at the 2024 US Army Band Tuba Euphonium Workshop in Fort Myer, VA.

IUP Studio Art Faculty Selected for Moonshot Grant

Two Indiana University of Pennsylvania studio art faculty members are using a $70,000 Moonshot Grant to launch new worlds of opportunity for youth in Pittsburgh’s Brownsville area.

International Delegation Visits Institute for Cyber Security

On February 5, 2024, IUP’s Institute for Cyber Security hosted seven delegates from Iraq as part of the International Visitor Leadership Program through the US Department of State.

Lowery Presents at ASCA Annual Conference

On Saturday, February 3, 2024, John Wesley Lowery, professor and department chair of Student Affairs in Higher Education, presented at ASCA conference held at Portland, Oregon.

Farag Invited Participant for White House National Cyber Workforce Education Roadshow

Waleed Farag, professor of computer science and director of IUP’s Institute for Cyber Security, was an invited participant for a roundtable discussion with Jake Braun, acting principal deputy national cyber director in the Office of the National Cyber Director, on cybersecurity and workforce development.

Indiana Musicale Hosts Seventh Monster Piano Concert

Indiana Musicale (Indiana Chapter, Pennsylvania Music Teachers Association), in collaboration with the IUP Department of Music, hosted its seventh Monster Piano Concert in DiCicco Hall on Saturday, February 3.

Vetter Publishes Article on Ethical Uses of AI in Writing Classroom

Matt Vetter and co-authors (all former or current IUP doctoral students in English) published "Towards a Framework for Local Interrogation of AI Ethics: A Case Study on Text Generators, Academic Integrity, and Composing with ChatGPT" in the journal Computers and Composition.

Lowery Receives NASPA Faculty Service Award

John Wesley Lowery, department chair of Student Affairs in Higher Education, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, has been recognized by the NASPA Faculty Council as the 2024 recipient of the Faculty Service Award.

Siegel Finer Promoted to Associate Editor of Journal

English department faculty member Bryna Siegel Finer (English) has taken on new roles at the journal Rhetoric of Health & Medicine and the book series Writing Spaces.

Anthropology’s Ford Presents at International Underwater Cultural Heritage Conference

Professor Ben Ford recently traveled to Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, to participate in the Underwater Cultural Heritage Conference organized by the Saudi Arabia Heritage Commission.

Wong Doe Performs with Johnstown Symphony Orchestra

IUP piano professor Henry Wong Doe performed with the Johnstown Symphony Orchestra on January 14, 2024, in their Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration concert.

Works of Ivan Fortushniak, Presented by University Museum

The University Museum presents a collection of works by Ivan Fortushniak as the first exhibit of 2024.