Safety Sciences Salutes Students and Faculty

The Department of Safety Sciences congratulates its fall 2020 Provost Scholars. To be named a Provost Scholar, students must have earned a minimum of 45 semester hours at IUP with a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Provost Scholar recognition is given only once during a student’s time of study at IUP.


2020 Safety Sciences Virtual Career Fair

The Department of Safety Sciences will host a Virtual Career Fair on Thursday, October 15, 2020, from 10:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. 


Hoover Completes Thesis on Elderly Drivers

Kalie Hoover, MS in safety sciences student, successfully defended her thesis, titled “Examining reaction time and compensatory behaviors and their effects on elderly drivers: A systemic review.”

Safety Sciences Alumnus Develops Coronavirus Response Program

Upon graduation from IUP, Christopher (Blake) Downer ’18, became the safety director for Contemporary Electrical Services, Inc.  Blake was instrumental in developing their safety program from the ground up.

Marin Receives Hispanic Safety Professional of the Year Award

Congratulations to Professor Luz Marin for being recognized by the American Society of Safety Professionals Communities as the 2019–20 Hispanic Safety Professional of the Year.


Six Students win Scholarships from the American Society of Safety Professionals Foundation

Six students from the Department of Safety Sciences have won American Society of Safety Professionals Foundation scholarships for 2020.


Safety Sciences Celebrates Class of 2020

The faculty and staff in the Department of Safety Sciences celebrated the class of 2020 on Friday, May 8, with a virtual commencement ceremony. 

Janicak and Zreiqat Win ASSP Award

The American Society of Safety Professional's Editorial Review Board and the Council on Professional Development announced that Christopher Janicak and Majed Zreiqat’s article, “Perception Surveys: Development and Analysis to Study Safety Issues,” received the second-place Professional Safety Article of the Year Award.


Safety Sciences Faculty Receive ACPAC Funding Awards

Wanda Minnick, Majed Zreiqat, Luz Marin, and Bryan Seal received ACPAC funding for wearable technology in the ergonomics lab, and for the purchase a photo-ionization detector.

OSHA COVID-19 Information

OSHA’s primary resource is the OSHA COVID-19 official web page. This page is being updated routinely, and we encourage you to review it frequently.

Marletta Enters First ASSP Cohort

Anthony Marletta, a safety and health professional at Liberty Mutual and a student in IUP’s PhD program in Safety Sciences, was selected into the first-ever cohort of the American Society of Safety Professionals Emerging Professionals Development Program. 


Mulroy and Scott Diehl Receive Doctoral Degrees

John Mulroy and Francene Scott Diehl both graduated recently with PhDs in Safety Sciences from the IUP Department of Safety Sciences.

Business as Usual for Safety Sciences

The faculty and staff in the Safety Sciences Department are mainly working off-site at the present time. Please log in to your classes at the scheduled time—they are going on!

Armstrong Receives PhD in Safety Sciences

Congratulations to George Armstrong, our most recent PhD graduate in Safety Sciences at Indiana University of Pennsylvania.  


DeIvernois Receives BCSP Scholarship

Patrick DeIvernois, a senior Safety, Health, and Environmental Applied Sciences student, received a $5,000 Board of Certified Safety Professionals scholarship.

Zreiqat and Faculty Receive University Senate Research Award

Congratulations to Majed Zreiqat, principal investigator, and Luz Marin and Wanda Minnick for receiving a University Senate Research Committee Award for their research related to “Characterization of Nurse-Patient Handling Tasks.”

Safety Sciences Department Assists at Rivers Casino

Four Safety, Health, and Environmental Applied Sciences students traveled to the Rivers Casino in Pittsburgh on February 17, 2020, to help the casino’s safety department with conducting coefficient of friction tests on floor coatings at the casino.


Pedmo Receives Mid-Atlantic Scholarship

Safety Sciences senior Taylor Pedmo received the Mid-Atlantic Construction Safety Council Scholarship.