The award was permanently named after the first recipient, Raymond A. Coppler. Ray was an undergraduate student at IUP who was an activeadvocate of disability rights and equal access, and worked closely with the Office of Social Equity. Ray graduated from IUP in 2010 with a BA in History and a minor in Economics.