Safety Sciences Department Advisory Board

2018 Advisory Committee

The Department of Safety Sciences maintains contact with outside sources of advice through an advisory board that serves both the undergraduate and graduate programs, including the internship program. The board is composed of professionals in safety and health in academia, business, and institutions.

Categories include general manufacturing transportation, services, food industry, and the chemical industry. At present, board membership includes many current and past officers of local and national chapters of SH&E organizations.


  • Tracey Cekada, Professor and Chairperson, IUP Safety Sciences
  • Frank Baxter, EHS Director, Skanska
  • Christina Deitman, OE Assurance Advisor, Chevron
  • Randy Dunagan, Regional Manager/Risk Control, Liberty Mutual Group
  • Larry Hirchak, SE Region Safety Manager, Granite Construction Company
  • Christopher Jobson, Safety Director, Republic Services
  • Bradley Johnson, Safety Coordinator, Phillips 66
  • Ray Kovacs, Global Director of EH&S, Sherwin-Williams Company
  • Justin Little, HSSE Advisor, BP
  • Jennifer Mabry, EHS Product Manager, Bloomberg Environment
  • Matthew McCarthy, Safety Director, Kokosing Construction Company, Inc.
  • Judy Miller, Safety Group Manager, General Motors
  • Edward Moffett, Corporate Operations Manager Risk Control Services, PMA Companies
  • Kristen Morgret, Group Manager - Safety Consulting, Rettew
  • Eric Nelson, PA State Representative, Steel City Safety
  • Jeffrey Nick, Regional Manager Chemical Process Safety NA, Avery Dennison
  • Gage Rankin, Senior Project Safety Manager, Gilbane Building Company
  • Laura Rhodes, Assistant Professor, IUP Safety Sciences
  • Shari Samuels, Executive Director Regional Safety Operations, Kaiser Permanente
  • Bryan Seal, Assistant Professor, IUP Safety Sciences
  • Tom Stewart, Director of Safety, Range Resources - Appalachia, LLC
  • Greg Tarosky, Safety Manager, Lighthouse Electric
  • David Webb, Director of S&H Mid-Atlantic District, HenselPhelps
  • Paul Ziegler, Vice-President of Safety, Allan Myers