The Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh sponsors the College Chemistry Award.

This award, for chemistry or biochemistry majors, recognizes excellence in the study of chemistry or biochemistry and uses the following criteria:

  • Accomplishments in undergraduate chemistry, participation in a chemistry or biochemistry related project, honors, awards, and a grade point average of 3.0 or better.
  • The awardee must be a senior.
  • Provide a detailed resume to their nominator (Chemistry faculty member).

In recognition of their accomplishments, the nominated student will receive a certificate of achievement and a cash award. In honor of the awardee, the school will receive a grant for the purchase of a book for the chemistry library and a nameplate inscribed with the student's name for your wall plaque.

The award is presented at the Spring Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh Annual Awards dinner, to which the awardee and their guest(s) are invited.

Prior Award Recipients

2017-18 Chasity Hankinson
2016-17 Veronica Caro
2015-16 Allison Rabon
2014-15 Charles Culbertson
2013-14 Teresa Dierks
2012-13 Rebecca Beadling
2011-12 Mitchell Stadler
2010-11 Jonathan Henninger
2009-10 Jennifer Beveridge
2008-09 Olivia McGovern
2007-08 Kaycie Butler
2006-07 Joseph W. Zewe
2005-06 Amy Hamsher
2004-05 Thomas A. Baker
2003-04 Susan M. Farabaugh
2002-03 Jennifer D. Sloppy
2001-02 Stephanie L. Britton
2000-01 Chrysa F. Malosh
1999-00 Rebecca J. Cerio
1998-99 Gregory Nealen
1997-98 Emily R. Stauffer
1996-97 Jeremy A. Cody
1995-96 Jennifer Lynn Coleman
1994-95 Daniel E. Folmer
1993-94 Jess Hoover
1992-93 Brian M. Stoltz
1991-92 Hao Zhang
1990-91 Gregory Ferrence
1989-90 Kimberly Kish
1988-89 Joanne Dusza
1987-88 Leslie Stankiewicz
1986-87 Elizabeth M. Zippi
1985-86 Ellen Marie Radzilowski
1984-85 Terri Davis
1983-84 Jeffrey Jay Albert
1982-83 Richard J. Loncharich
1981-82 Anne M. Breindel
1980-81 Leroy W. Warner
1979-80 William H. Schaeffer
1978-79 Mark L. Dietz
1977-78 John Balamuta
1976-77 Anne R. Trimeloni
1975-76 H. Craig Silvis
1974-75 Kevin L. Rollick