Diversity and Inclusion

IUP students come from diverse cultures, places, and backgrounds.

Here are some of the diversity resources available to all students at IUP.

Center for Multicultural Student Leadership and Engagement

The Center for Multicultural Student Leadership and Engagement is a campus gathering space and resource/programming center, providing students from a diverse set of backgrounds a place to meet and socialize. Our dedicated space for student organizations and up-to-date collaboration areas provide a great place to meet and study.

The Center provides a variety of multicultural programs and student events, from leadership opportunities to Greek Life, including ways for all students to get involved on campus.

The four offices which comprise the MCSLE are:

MCSLE Professional Staff

  • Theo Turner, Director, MCSLE, tturn@iup.edu
  • Leslie Coates, Assistant Director Multicultural Affairs and Student Success, coates@iup.edu
  • Patty Connell, MCSLE Administrative Assistant, pconnell@iup.edu
  • Kevin Foster, Assistant Director, Student Leadership and New Student Success, MCSLE, kfoster@iup.edu
  • Betsy Sarneso, Assistant Director, Greek Life and Student Engagement, MCSLE, esarneso@iup.edu
  • Tedd Cogar, Senior Assessment Cooridinator and LGBTQIA Support, MCSLE, tcogar@iup.edu
  • Brianna Drylie, Assistant Director, Program Coordination, Communication, and Assessment, MCSLE, bdrylie@iup.edu

Center Hours

128 Elkin Hall

Monday through Friday: 8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.; 1:00-4:30 p.m.

724-357-2598

Diverse and Spiritual Student Organizations

For more information or to get involved, visit CrimsonConnect.

Office of Social Equity

Elise Glenn, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer/Title IX Coordinator
724-357-3402

LGBTQIA Support

The University seeks to support and promote a welcoming atmosphere for those who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, allies, asexual, two spirit, and others within the rainbow spectrum.

Ally Development Trainings will be held on Thursday, August 24, and Friday, August 25, at 1:30 p.m. in Pratt Auditorium.

For questions or consultation, contact Tedd Cogar: tcogar@iup.edu and on Twitter: @LGBTQIAatIUP