James R. Myers Memorial Scholarship


Dr. James Myers received his bachelor of science degree from Kent State University in 1968. He received his master of arts in 1972 and his doctorate in education in 1983 from West Virginia University. He taught as a public school teacher, was a curriculum development specialist for West Virginia, and taught at Pennsylvania State University and West Virginia University prior to joining the faculty at IUP.

Dr. Myers joined the IUP Mathematics Department in Fall 1989 and was promoted to the rank of associate professor during his career here at IUP. He loved teaching and sharing his knowledge of teaching with students preparing to teach as a career. He was a frequent speaker at the annual meetings of the Pennsylvania Council of Teachers of Mathematics and the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Dr. Myers was awarded the Pennsylvania State Education Association Outstanding Professor Award in 1992. He presented numerous in-service programs in area school districts.

Dr. Myers served as the assistant chairperson for the Mathematics Department starting on May 1, 2000, and served in this position until his untimely death. He served on many departmental, collegewide, and universitywide committees, striving always for professional excellence. He received the Faculty Recognition Award in 1995 and the Outstanding Achievement Award in 2006.

Uses and Purposes

The James R. Myers Memorial Scholarship shall provide an annual scholarship award to a student at Indiana University of Pennsylvania who best meets the following criteria:

  1. Must be enrolled as a full-time student with a declared major in Elementary Education and a Mathematics Concentration or in Middle Level Mathematics Education.
  2. Must have a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average.
  3. The award shall be made at the end of the student's junior year for use during the senior year of study.
  4. Application should include information on extracurricular activities.

Selection of recipient(s) shall be made by the Scholarship Committee of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Sciences.