Scholarship Recipients

In the academic year 2023–24, IUP was awarded a significant grant from the Department of Defense (DoD) Cyber Scholarship Program to provide full-ride scholarships to the following 13 students:

  1. Evan Crooks
  2. Vincent Emery
  3. Jared Giesen
  4. Malcolm Holden
  5. Thomas McGillan
  6. Julia O'Brien
  7. Noah Oberholtzer
  8. Benjamin Reno
  9. Brody Rife
  10. James Saylor
  11. Meghan Schilpp
  12. James Searer
  13. Noah Suley


Informational Session 

An online information session to explain the scholarship and answer all questions was held on November 21, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. 

For information about the IUP DoD Scholarship Program and all of its current and previous activities, please see the project main page.

To fill the need of capable cybersecurity professionals, the DoD sought rising junior and senior (third- and fourth-year) undergraduate and graduate/doctoral students who were interested in full-ride scholarships for concentrated studies in cybersecurity. Students selected for the program received full scholarships. This required the student to agree to serve one year of service to the DoD, upon graduation for each year of scholarship received.

Please contact the program director, Waleed Farag, at with any questions.

Project Meetings and Documents

Waleed Farag, the project director, along with the co-principal investigator and all scholarship recipients are holding regular meetings throughout the academic year 2023–24. In these meetings, we discuss progress, address, and resolve any concerns or challenges that any of the awardees may face, and ensure success in completing their degrees and compliance with the terms and conditions for the DoD scholarship award.

Listed below are meeting documents for the 2023–24 DoD Cyber Scholarship Program.

Meeting Agendas and Minutes