Nice Publishes on School Counselors and the College Process

Matthew Nice, Department of Counseling, was the first author on a recent article titled “School Counselors’ Self-Efficacy in Knowledge of the College Process.”

McCarthy and Brittany Pollard-Kosidowski Publish on Embedding Strengths in Counselor Training

Two Department of Counseling faculty members, John McCarthy and Brittany Pollard-Kosidowski, recently published an article titled “Five ways to embed strengths in counselor training” in the Journal of the Pennsylvania Counseling Association.

Counseling Faculty and Students Present Workshops at Mental Health Conference

John McCarthy and Counseling students Joel Brown and Emma Shannon offered workshops at the recent conference of Mental Health America of Southwest PA.


Counseling Faculty and Student Publish on Question-Framing

Two Counseling faculty members, John McCarthy and Michelle Bruno, and a student in the Clinical Mental Health Counseling program, Emma Shannon, recently published “Creative Question-Framing: 12 Ideas for Counselors-in-Training.” in the Journal of Creativity in Mental Health.


McCarthy Publishes Essay on Training Within Counseling Programs

John McCarthy, Department of Counseling, published an article titled “Encouraging T-shaped Thinking in the Counseling Profession” in Counseling Today Online, the website of the American Counseling Association.


Inaugural Cohort Graduates with PhD in Counselor Education and Supervision

The Department of Counseling congratulates our first PhD in Counselor Education and Supervision graduates. Three members of our inaugural cohort have graduated and helped the department become eligible for accreditation from the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs.


McCarthy Offers Workshops on Creativity

John McCarthy, Department of Counseling, offered a workshop on creative wellness at the 2020 Florida Creativity Conference in Sarasota, Florida.


Guth, Pollard, and Coombs Receive Awards at ASGW Conference

At the Association for Specialists in Group Work Conference in Puerto Rico, Lorraine Guth received the ASGW Presidential Award, and Ashley Coombs, current PASGW president and IUP CES doctoral student, and Brittany Pollard, current PASGW secretary/treasurer, accepted the M. Carolyn Thomas Outstanding Branch Award.

Guth, Pollard, and CES Doctoral Students Present and Provide Service in Puerto Rico

Several Department of Counseling faculty members and students recently conducted scholarly presentations at the Association for Specialists in Group Work National Conference in Dorado, Puerto Rico. Service to communities impacted by Hurricane Maria and the recent earthquakes was also provided.