CAEP Accredited Provider - Excellence in Educator Preparation AccreditationIUP's teacher education programs are recognized both nationally and regionally.

CAEP (Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation) accreditation is a process of peer review that the educational community has adopted for its self-regulation. It is a voluntary process intended to strengthen and sustain the quality and integrity of teacher preparation programs, making it worthy of public confidence.

Once accredited by CAEP, IUP teacher preparation programs agree to abide by the standards of CAEP and to take responsibility for their own continuous improvement.

The programs listed below are recognized by CAEP. Additionally, all programs are recognized by the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PED) and some by their Specialized Professional Accreditor (SPA) as indicated below as well. For additional information, go to Specialized Accreditations.

Program Level Degree SPA
Art Education Initial Baccalaureate NASAD
Business Education Initial Baccalaureate PDE
Early Childhood/Special Education Initial Baccalaureate NAEYC and CEC
English Education Initial Baccalaureate NCTE
Family and Consumer Education Initial Baccalaureate PDE
Health and Physical Education Initial Baccalaureate AAHE
Health and Physical Education, MED Initial Master's AAHE
Mathematics Education Initial Baccalaureate NCTM
Middle Level Programs Initial Baccalaureate AMLE/NMSA
Music Education Initial Baccalaureate NASM
Science Education Grade 7-12: Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Space Science, and Physics Initial Baccalaureate NSTA
Social Studies Education Initial Baccalaureate NCSS
Spanish Education Initial Baccalaureate ACTFL
Administration and Leadership Studies, DED Advanced Doctorate ELCC/NELP
Literacy, MED and/or Reading Specialist Advanced Master's ILA/IRA
Masters in Special Education and Certification Grades 7 through 12 Advanced Master's CEC
Masters in Special Education and Certification Grades PreK through Grade 8 Advanced Master's CEC
Principal Certification Advanced Specialist or C.A.S. ELCC/NELP
School Psychology, EdD & PHD Advanced Doctorate NASP
School Psychology, MED/Certification Program Advanced Specialist or C.A.S. NASP