President Michael Driscoll announced the appointment of a committee to oversee the national search that will lead to the selection of IUP’s next provost and vice president for Academic Affairs.

The committee, which will be cochaired by Anne Kondo, chair of the Madia Department of Chemistry, Biochemistry, Physics, and Engineering, and Bill Balint, chief information officer, will be composed of students, a faculty member from each college, several deans, and representatives from other areas of the university.

The new provost will replace Timothy Moerland, who retired in August after eight years at IUP. Lara Luetkehans, former dean of the College of Education and Communications, is currently serving as interim provost.

A search website with a full committee member list and other details will be made public in the coming weeks. Committee meetings will begin soon after.

Candidate reviews are expected to begin in early 2022, with finalist interviews likely to begin in the spring, with the goal of a new provost starting in the summer.