Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to update you on an important action step toward achieving our vision of a diverse and welcoming community of students, faculty, and staff: the creation of the President's Commission on Diversity and Inclusion.

Dr. Yaw Asamoah and Ms. Kate Linder have agreed to serve as founding co-chairs of the commission, which includes 17 members of the IUP and Indiana community. A listing of the membership, and the formal charge to the commission, are available on the Commission on Diversity and Inclusion webpage.

Ultimately, the commission has been tasked with recommending action steps that align with the University Strategic Plan, are high impact, and reflect best practices across the nation. These recommendations will comprise a Diversity Action Plan. Following the development of this plan, the commission, in collaboration with appropriate university entities (including the University Planning Council), will monitor and assess the implementation of these action steps.

Transparency and inclusiveness will be keystones for this work, which will include creating subcommittees led by commission members to discuss, analyze, and develop recommendations on specific areas of focus. Information on how to become involved in this work will be forthcoming from the commission leadership.

I have said it before, but it bears repeating: there is no more important task than ensuring that IUP is a place where we can all feel welcome to learn, work, and live.

Thank you all for your continued commitment to this work.

Michael Driscoll