I am pleased to inform you that all of our science education programs—Biology Education, Chemistry Education, Earth and Space Science Education, and Physics Education—have received full national recognition from the National Science Teacher Education Association. This recognition means that 100 percent of IUP's teacher education programs are nationally recognized by individual specialized accrediting agencies.

The National Science Teacher Education Association is a prestigious accrediting organization of National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, the professional accrediting organization for schools, colleges, and departments of education in the United States. All of IUP's teacher education programs and eligible graduate programs are fully accredited by NCATE.

Please join me in congratulating Dean John Eck, Dean Mary Ann Rafoth, and all of the members of the accreditation teams, including Mr. Jeff Frantangeli, the IUP NCATE assessment coordinator, and the program coordinators who worked collectively on the accreditation report: Dr. Mike Briggs, Chemistry; Dr. Ken Coles, Geoscience; Dr. Stan Sobolewski, Physics; and Dr. Holly Travis, Biology.

This is another significant external validation of the quality of IUP programs and faculty, and an accomplishment in which we should take great pride.

Tony Atwater, Ph.D.