James Jozefowicz has been selected as the recipient of the 2024 Garvin-Kort Faculty Award for Research in Economics. Generous donations from 1981 IUP Distinguished Alumni Award recipient John Kort ’74 and the late Alexander Garvin, economics faculty 1969–98, provided support for faculty research. 

Jozefowicz will copresent a research paper, “Rural-Urban Differences in SNAP Participation: A Panel Data Analysis of Pennsylvania Counties,” at the upcoming thirty-eighth annual Pennsylvania Economic Association Conference. This study examines the determinants of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) in Pennsylvania counties. Economic and demographic characteristics are evaluated in their relation to the SNAP participation rate using panel data from 1990 to 2019 for the 67 Pennsylvania counties, collected from the US Census Bureau and the Federal Reserve Economic Data. 

Jozefowicz is co-authoring this study with Angel Alcantara (IUP BA—Economics/Honors, Dec. ’23 graduate and current IUP MS—Applied Mathematics student) and Kaleb Kolesar (IUP BA—Economics, Dec. ’23)

Jozefowicz’s other recent research projects have culminated in the following publications:

  • Thompson, Alexi, Jozefowicz, James J. (2024) “Euro Switch, Economic Growth, and Property Crimes in Europe.” International Economics and Economic Policy21, 343–362. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/s10368-024-00590-3
  • Alcantara, Angel; Brewer, Stephanie M.; and Jozefowicz, James J. (2023) "An Analysis of Poverty Convergence: Evidence from Pennsylvania Counties," The Journal of Economics and Politics 28(1), Article 3. DOI: https://doi.org/10.59604/1046-2309.1059
  • Alcantara, Angel, Brewer, Stephanie M., & Jozefowicz, James J. (2023). Rural-Urban Differences in Poverty: An Analysis of Pennsylvania Counties. International Journal of Economics and Financial Issues13(5), 1–9. DOI: https://doi.org/10.32479/ijefi.14793

Past recipients of the Garvin-Kort Faculty Award for Research in Economics include active IUP Department of Finance and Economics faculty members Todd Potts, Brandon Vick, and Yaya Sissoko.