Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |

Research Fall Reception 2009

Fall 2009 Faculty Awards

On November 4, 2009, the IUP Research Institute and the School of Graduate Studies and Research cohosted Fall Reception 2009. Each academic dean selected one faculty member from his or her college who most exemplified outstanding research and scholarship during the previous academic year.

Dr. Timothy Nuttle (seated, left) was selected for the award by Dr. Mary Lou Zanich, Interim Dean of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics (standing, second from left). In addition to the college award, Dr. Nuttle was selected for the Dean’s Award by Dr. Timothy Mack, dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research (standing, right). Dr. Mack said, “Dr. Nuttle was chosen for the Dean’s Award because of the well-rounded excellence of his program. Dr. Nuttle’s program encompasses excellent scholarship, student involvement, grantsmanship, and both domestic and international research. It is truly a model program and one that all of us at IUP can be proud of.”

Dr. Nuttle began his career at IUP in 2007 as assistant professor of Applied Plant Ecology in the Department of Biology. Dr. Nuttle’s research seeks to understand processes contributing to the maintenance, loss, and assembly of biological diversity in forest ecosystems with the aim of providing guidance for conservation and restoration. He has authored thirty-five peer-reviewed articles and book chapters and received over a million dollars in grants.

Dr. Timothy Runge (seated, second from left) was selected for the award by Dr. Mary Ann Rafoth, dean of the College of Education and Educational Technology (standing, third from left). Dr. Runge has been asistant professor in the Department of Educational and School Psychology since 2008.

Dr. Runge’s research interests include behavior support at the individual, classroom, and school-wide level; literacy assessment and instruction; and curriculum-based assessment. He has presented results of his research at various state and national conferences for educators and providers of school-based mental health services. Additionally, Dr. Runge and Dr. Mark Staszkiewicz have been under contract since 2008 to evaluate PaTTAN’s School-Wide Positive Behavior Support Initiative being implemented in over thirty schools across the Commonwealth.

Mr. Richard Kemp (seated, third from left) was selected for the award by Mr. Michael Hood, dean of the College of Fine Arts (standing, fourth from left). Mr. Kemp is an associate professor in the Theater Department. He joined the Theater faculty in 2004.

Mr. Kemp has combined his academic career with over thirty years of professional work in international theatre, receiving awards on both sides of the Atlantic for his work as an actor and director. He is currently completing his Ph.D. in Theatre and Performance Studies at the University of Pittsburgh. In 2009, he founded 404 Strand, an international performance collective which researches new ways of creating and presenting theatre. The company’s first project, an adaptation of Marlowe’s Doctor Faustus, was supported by an award from IUP’s Academic Excellence and Innovation program and will be presented by Pittsburgh’s Cultural Trust in July 2010.

Dr. Martha Troxell (seated, third from right) was selected for the award by Dr. Robert Camp, dean of the College of Business and Information Technology (standing, fourth from right). Dr. Troxell is a professor of Legal Studies and began her career at IUP in the Department of Finance and Legal Studies in 1977.

Dr. Troxell’s research has focused on international business law. In 1990, she lectured at a university in Rostov-na-Don, USSR, just prior to the first presidential elections there. In 2002 and 2004, she traveled to China with a delegation of U.S. lawyers to study Chinese law and international trade. In 2005, Dr. Troxell joined colleagues from the University of Pittsburgh for a trip to Ukraine, Bulgaria, and Croatia to meet with each country’s embassy staff to discuss their accession to the European Union. Recently, Dr. Troxell and Dr. Erika Frenzel (Department of Criminology) were awarded a grant from the Center for Rural Pennsylvania to conduct an in-depth investigation of specialty courts in rural Pennsylvania.

Dr. John Benhart, Jr., (seated, second from right) was selected for the award by Dr. Yaw Asamoah, dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences (standing, third from right). Dr. Benhart joined the Department of Geography and Planning in 1994 and currently is a professor and department chair.

Dr. Benhart’s research and teaching interests include geographic information science (GISc), technical aspects and applications of geographic information systems (GIS), spatial decision support systems, and the urban geography of American cities. He has been an investigator on projects funded by the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, the U.S. Department of Education, the U.S. Office of Surface Mining, and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. He has been investigator or co-investigator on externally-funded grants and contracts worth more than $1.2 million during his career at IUP. Recently, Dr. Benhart established the Institute for Mine Mapping and Archival Procedures and Safety (IMAPS).

Dr. Daniel Lee (seated, right) and Dr. Dennis Giever (not in photo) were selected for the award by Dr. Carleen Zoni, dean, College of Health and Human Services (standing, second from right). Dr. Lee is an associate professor who joined the criminology faculty in 2001. Dr. Giever is a professor who joined the department in 1998.

Dr. Lee’s research interests include the conceptualization, measurement, and validity of criminological theory, assessing the impact of criminal victimization and the fear of crime on behaviors and attitudes, and evaluating the utility of criminal justice policies. Currently, he is one of four coprincipal investigators to receive federal funds to study correctional educational processes.

Dr. Giever has received grants from the National Science Foundation for work in information assurance, the Pennsylvania Department of Corrections, and the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency. Recently, he received grants from the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation, for providing M.A.s and Certificates of Recognition to FBI personnel in the WMD Directorate within the National Preparedness Unit. Also, Dr. Giever is one of four coprincipal investigators to receive federal funds to study correctional educational processes.

  • School of Graduate Studies and Research
  • Assistant Dean for Research
    Stright Hall, Room 113
    210 South Tenth Street
    Indiana, PA 15705-1081
  • Phone: 724-357-7730
  • Fax: 724-357-2715
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m.