Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |

PASSHE Wins Washington Center System of the Year Award

The Washington Center for Internships and Academic Seminars has named the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education its University System of the Year, citing an “extraordinary partnership” between the center and the commonwealth that has resulted in hundreds of Pennsylvania State System students landing prestigious internships in and around the nation’s capital.

Jarred Smith (right) with Kenneth Jarin, chairman of the PASSHE Board of GovernorsThe award was presented at an October 19 luncheon in Washington, D.C.

Jarred Smith (right) with Kenneth Jarin, chairman of the PASSHE Board of Governors

Of the three hundred PASSHE students who have participated in the Washington Center’s internship program since 2001, IUP students comprise the largest majority of that number, with eighty IUP students chosen for this prestigious internship program. IUP’s current intern, Jarred Smith, a junior political science major from Philadelphia, was chosen to make a presentation during the luncheon.

“This is a very significant honor, and one that recognizes PASSHE’s commitment to providing our students outstanding educational opportunities, both in the classroom and in the real world,” PASSHE Chancellor John Cavanaugh said. “There is no better way to prepare for a successful career than by gaining the real-life and practical experience a high-caliber internship provides.”

PASSHE also was recognized at the center’s annual gala. The gala, which also helps raise scholarship funds for the program, was moderated by Bob Schieffer of CBS News.

Washington Center group photo

From left: Kenneth Jarin; Kimberly Adams from East Stroudsburg University; Aaron Walton, vice chair of the PASSHE Board of Governors; Chancellor John Cavanaugh; Ambassador Alan Blinken, chairman of the Washington Center’s Board of Directors; Allison Stone Briggs from Bloomsburg University; Shippensburg University President William Rudd; IUP President Tony Atwater; and Slippery Rock University President Robert Smith. Photos courtesy of Washington Center