Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |

Atwater Creates University Budget Advisory Committee

In efforts to make budget discussions more participatory and open to the university community, IUP President Tony Atwater has created the University Budget Advisory Committee.

This group serves as an advisory body to the president. Cornelius Wooten, vice president for administration and finance, serves as the liaison with the group and the president.

The group had two meetings during the Spring semester and will resume meeting in the Fall. The committee’s charges:

  1. Advise the president related to the establishment and implementation of IUP’s short-term and long-term priorities.
  2. Advise the president regarding internal and external factors which may impact the university’s budgets, planning process, and overall financial health and viability.
  3. Facilitate the integration of the planning and budgeting process to include annual review of enrollment targets and strategies; strategic planning; budget review and planning; and allocation recommendations.
  4. Advise the president regarding the most effective manner to communicate to the university community relative to planning and resource allocation decisions.
  5. Provide recommendations to the president annually regarding divisional budget allocations based upon the university’s strategic plan, goals, and priorities.
  6. Promote and facilitate an environment whereby the university budgeting process is participatory, transparent, and informative in nature.

The UBAC includes twenty-four members from various university constituencies, including the University Senate and the University Planning Committee:

From the faculty, selected by Council of Chairs: Alex Heckert (Sociology), Germaine Kline (Accounting), and John Woolcock (Chemistry)

From the academic administration, selected by the Dean’s Council: Yaw Asamoah (Humanities and Social Sciences), Robert Camp (Eberly College of Business and Information Technology), John Eck (Natural Sciences and Mathematics), Michael Hood (Fine Arts), David Myers (Graduate Studies and Research), Mary Ann Rafoth (Education and Educational Technology), Patricia Scott (Northpointe Campus), Valarie Trimarchi (Punxsutawney Campus), Carleen Zoni (Health and Human Services), Phil Zorich (IUP Libraries)

University administration and staff:  Barbe Moore (President’s Office—Institutional Research, Planning, and Assessment), John Kilmarx (Academic Affairs), Lynn Barger (University Relations), Jim Begany (Student Affairs—Enrollment Management)

University Senate representative: Will Radell (Economics); AFSCME representative: Sue Smith (Developmental Studies); APSCUF representative: Mark Staszkiewicz (Educational and School Psychology); SCUPA representative: William Zimmerman (Housing and Residence Life); SPFPA representative: David Lashinsky (University Safety); OPEIU representative: Louella Ondo (University Health Services); and PSSU representative: Ann Sesti (Student Affairs)

Ex-officio members include Susanna Sink, associate vice president for Finance; Helen Kennedy, associate vice president for Human Resources; and Robert Deemer, interim budget director.