IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |

University Happenings


University Professor

Awarded for 2007-2008 to Geoscience Department chair Steven Hovan (See below for more information.)

Fulbright U.S. Student Scholarship

Awarded to Matthew Fedinick ’06 to study Teaching English as a Foreign Language in South Korea

APEX Grand Award for Electronic and Video Publications

Presented by the Awards for Publication Excellence Program to Administration and Leadership Program professor Robert Millward and University Relations staff members William Hamilton ’92 and Emily Jaros ’03, M’05 for the DVD A Leadership Walk Across Gettysburg. Information about the DVD appeared in the Summer issue of IUP Magazine.

Academic Excellence and Innovation Awards

Presented by IUP to the following faculty members: Keith Kyler (Chemistry); R. Scott Moore (History) and Beverly Chiarulli (Anthropology); Raymond Pavloski (Psychology); and Stuart Chandler (Religious Studies)


For the seventh consecutive year, IUP was selected for inclusion in a Princeton Review “Best” Guidebook, appearing in Princeton Review’s Best 366 Colleges, 2007-2008 edition.


NSF Grants

Two National Science Foundation grants totaling nearly $700,000 were awarded to IUP faculty members in recent months. A team led by Gregory Kenning of the Physics Department received $369,000 to purchase a Quantum Design Physical Properties Measurement System that will be used to determine and characterize properties of materials. Others on the team include Devki Talwar (Physics), Charles Lake (Chemistry), Larry Freeman (Physics), Heba Abourahma (Chemistry), and John Taylor ’75 (Geology). “Measurements made on this device will provide high-quality, research-grade data for faculty and graduate students, as well as providing a rapid, easy to use, flexible educational tool for incorporation into the undergraduate laboratory curriculum in IUP’s College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics,” Kenning said. Beverly Chiarulli of the Anthropology Department received an NSF grant for more than $312,000. The title of her grant is “MRI: Acquisition of Mobile Spatial Data Acquisition and Processing Technologies to Support Cross-Disciplinary Research and Student Training.” More information about both grants is available at www.iup.edu/news.

Research Appropriations

Keith Kyler, foreground, works with a student.

Two bills before Congress at the time IUP Magazine went to press were expected to bring $1.65 million in research funding to the university. Congressman John Murtha, chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Defense, announced in mid-July that IUP was in line to receive $650,000 to fund ongoing research by Keith Kyler (foreground right) of the Chemistry Department. (Photo: Keith Boyer) 

Kyler’s project deals with the conversion of biomass waste, such as wood chips and sawgrass, into sugar that can be used in the production of both bioethanol and biodegradable plastics. Later in July, Murtha announced that $1 million in funding had been earmarked for research directed by Biology professor Narayanaswamy Bharathan that will develop a rapid screening and detection system of multiple bio-threat agents for the U.S. Department of Defense and other federal and state emergency responders. Bharathan is a member of the IUP Weapons of Mass Destruction project team.

University Professor

Steven Hovan

Geoscience Department chair Steven Hovan (left) was selected as IUP’s 2007-2008 University Professor. According to Provost Cheryl Samuels, “the University Professor is an individual who exemplifies excellence in all areas of teaching, research/scholarly activities, and service. Dr. Hovan’s dedication to his students, his discipline, and ultimately IUP is superbly demonstrated in all his activities.” Hovan, who will carry the title University Professor for life, receives a $5,000 grant to support his research activities, a reduced teaching load during the 2007-2008 academic year, and a summer contract. His name will be inscribed on a plaque in Stapleton Library lobby. (Photo: Keith Boyer) 

Faculty Productivity

IUP’s faculty productivity has been ranked among the top ten nationally in a specialized research university category of the Faculty Scholarly Productivity Index. In rankings released last summer by Academic Analytics of Stony Brook, N.Y., IUP was the only Pennsylvania institution to achieve the top ten. Other schools in that select group included Teachers College at Columbia University, Cleveland State University, and Adelphi University. The index measures the annual amount and impact of faculty scholarly work in several areas, including publications, citations of journal publications, federal research funding, and awards and honors.

Woman of the Year

Miriam Chaiken of the Anthropology Department has been named Nutritional Anthropologist of the Year by the Society for the Anthropology of Food and Nutrition (of which she is a recent past-president).

Inaugural Fellows

Teresa Shellenbarger and Susan Poorman, both professors of nursing in the Department of Nursing and Allied Health Professions, are inaugural fellows in the Academy of Nursing Education, formed by the National League for Nursing.

Caber Toss

Communications Media professor Richard Lamberski took first place in the Eleventh Annual Photo Contest at the Ligonier (Pa.) Highland Games with his photo “Caber Toss.” It was his fourth win in the last five competitions.

Democracy and Global Security

A paper by Criminology Department faculty member Daniel Lee won an award at the Second Istanbul Conference on Democracy and Global Security. His research was on “Assessing Citizen Perceptions of Police Effectiveness.” His fellow faculty members Dennis Giever D’95, Alida Merlo, and David Myers also attended the conference, and several IUP doctoral students presented research.