IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |

University Happenings


President’s Medal of Distinction

To Ruth Riesenman ’64, in recognition of her devoted decades of service to IUP and its students and her continuing service not only to the university but to the Indiana community

Fulbright Senior Specialist Scholarship Award

To IUP Marketing Department faculty member Rajendar Garg, who will travel to Southwestern University of Finance and Economics in Chengdu, China. The award marks the second Fulbright recognition for Garg and the fifty-eighth for IUP faculty members since 1959.

2007 Individual Creative Artists Fellowships

Presented by the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts to faculty members Anthony Farrington, English, and Fuyuko Matsubara, Art

Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival 2007 National Finalist in Sound Design

Achieved by David Hunter, a December graduate of Robert E. Cook Honors College, in recognition of his work on IUP’s production of Philoctetes

Admissions Marketing Award

Award of Merit in the External Publications category for the Fall, 2006, issue presented by Admissions Marketing Report to IUP Magazine


IUP was pegged at number 40 in Kiplinger’s Personal Finance Magazine’s list of “100 Best Values in Public Colleges” in the February,  2007, issue; Herb Denenberg also called attention to the accolade in his Philadelphia Bulletin column in January.


In January, the Alcoa Foundation awarded $100,000 to the Foundation for IUP to support a two-day, national forum on fatality prevention in the workplace, to be hosted by the IUP Safety Sciences Department.

Mary Ann Rafoth, a faculty member and administrator at IUP for two decades, has been appointed dean of the College of Education and Educational Technology, effective July 1.

In celebration of his sixtieth birthday, IUP Academic Technology Services administrator Rick McFerron walked thirty miles to Punxsutawney for Groundhog Day from his home in Indiana and thirty miles back the next day.  The trek, in some of the winter’s coldest weather, captured the imagination of reporters from all over the world and raised thousands of dollars for the Susan G. Komen fund for breast cancer education and research.

IUP Provost Cheryl Samuels was appointed in January to the Task Force on Core Educational Outcomes that will develop recommendations for a Voluntary System of Accountability, a partnership project of the Association of State Colleges and Universities and the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges. Former IUP President John Welty, now president of California State University Fresno, was appointed to the Presidential Advisory Committee for the project.

The IUP Academy of Culinary Arts’ Baking and Pastry Arts program has received accreditation from the American Culinary Federation. This is the program’s third year and the first in which it was eligible for accreditation.

IUP History Department faculty member Caleb Finegan sent some seventy Alternative Spring Break students to three different locations this year:  Eastern Tennessee, where one group worked on a trail-building effort coordinated by the Cumberland Trail Conference; Texas, where a second segment assisted an agency that rehabilitates and cares for abused or abandoned domestic pets and factory farm animals; and Buras, Louisiana, where a third group helped reconstruct the city, which sits at the mouth of the Mississippi delta and was first to be hit by Hurricane Katrina. Each year, activist IUP students forgo more usual spring break pleasures in favor of hard work as volunteers.

IUP Nursing students will have an opportunity to begin their careers free of student loan debt and with employment and internship experience, thanks to an agreement signed in January between IUP and Indiana Regional Medical Center. Full information is available at www.iup.edu/news.

IUP’s Spanish Education Program was one of only twelve foreign language teacher preparation programs granted “national recognition” by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages for its exemplary teacher preparation program.