IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |


Fulbright Senior Specialists Award

To James Nestor, sculpture professor in the IUP Department of Art, to develop and design curricula at the Nicaraguan School of Fine Arts

Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree

To Richard Macedonia ’66, president and CEO of Sodexho, Inc., at IUP’s Midyear Commencement ceremonies in December

James Nestor

Fulbright awardee James Nestor (right) works with IUP students at the sculpture studio in Robertshaw. Photo: Keith Boyer

Foundation for IUP Community Volunteer Service Awards

To Natasha Kaplan, a senior Criminology/Pre-Law major from Las Vegas, Nev.
To Kara Taylor, a senior Mathematics Education major from Wooster, Ohio

Friend of Higher Education Award

Presented by IUP and the local chapter of the Association of Pennsylvania State College and University Professors to Donald White, who represents the 41st district in the Pennsylvania Senate

IUP Legislative Fellow

John Maher, who represents Pennsylvania’s 40th legislative district, selected as the ninth IUP Legislative Fellow, in a program begun in 1998 by IUP-APSCUF

2006 Black Achievers Award

Presented by Black Opinion magazine to Carolyn Princes, director of IUP’s African American Cultural Center

2006 Hilda Richards Diversity Leadership Award

Presented posthumously to Caroll Mills Young, a faculty member at IUP from 1988 until her death in September

NAEYC Accreditation

To the University Child Care Center in IUP’s Davis Hall. The National Association for the Education of Young Children is concerned with quality in educational and developmental services for all children from birth through age eight; this is the first NAEYC accreditation in Indiana County.