IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |

Awards and Mentors


John Kopchich speaking at Commencement

One of IUP’S Own: Internationally recognized as a leader in the growth hormone field, John Kopchick ’72, M’75 (right) was the May Commencement speaker at IUP and also received an honorary Doctor of Science degree. In a departure from procedure of the past few decades, each student was recognized by name and congratulated on stage by President Tony Atwater.

Honorary Doctor of Science Degree

To John Kopchick ’72, M’75, internationally recognized leader in the growth hormone field, at the university’s May Commencement ceremony

University Professor

Awarded for 2008-2009 to Music Department chair Jack Stamp ’76. (see below)

Fulbright Scholarship

Awarded to Gina Russo, a May graduate of IUP and the Robert E. Cook Honors College, for study from September through May in China

Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival National Award in Sound Design

Awarded to Theresa Huber, a senior Theater major and member of the Robert E. Cook Honors College, in recognition of her work on the IUP production of The Beauty Queen of Leenane

Award for Innovative Excellence in Teaching, Learning, and Technology

Presented to IUP English professor Gian Pagnucci by the International Conference on College Teaching and Learning and the Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning

Admissions Marketing Report Gold Award

Presented in the External Publications category to IUP Magazine as part of the twenty-third annual Admissions Advertising Awards competition

Distinguished Faculty Awards

Based on recommendations of the University Senate, the awards for 2008 were bestowed on the following faculty members:

Patricia Villalobos-Echeverría

For Creative Arts—Patricia Villalobos-Echeverría, Art Department


Lynn Botelho

For Research—Lynn Botelho, History Department


Calvin Masilela

For Service—Calvin Masilela, Geography and Regional Planning Department


Richard Lamberski

For Teaching—Richard Lamberski, Communications Media Department


Jack Stamp

IUP’s University Professor for 2008-2009 is Jack Stamp ’76, chair of the Music Department and director of Band Studies. In addition to the lifetime title of University Professor, he will receive a $5,000 grant through the Foundation for IUP to support his research activities. Stamp has a master’s degree from East Carolina University and a doctorate from Michigan State. A reception in his honor will be held this fall.

Each year, the School of Graduate Studies and Research and the IUP Research Institute present awards to faculty members for Outstanding Achievement in Sponsored Research. During Research Appreciation Week in April, the following received awards: Jeff Anderson (Sociology), Outstanding Achievement in Research; John Engler (Safety Sciences), Outstanding Achievement in Public Service; Melvin Jenkins M’92 (Development Studies), Outstanding Achievement in Curriculum and Instruction; Jonathan Lewis (Geoscience), New Investigator Award; and Calvin Masilela mentors (Geography and Regional Planning), Outstanding Commitment to Sponsored Programs.

Art Department faculty member Frank Ross was killed in an automobile accident nearly thirty years ago, but his memory is alive among his former students. In March, eight of them, described by the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette as “some of the region’s most respected artists,” put together an exhibit in his honor at the Artists’ Co-op in Washington, Pa. Contributors to “Frankly Speaking” included seven IUP alumni. “Frank Ross was an extraordinary teacher and individual who had a tremendous influence on the hundreds of students he touched as a ceramics instructor at IUP,” ceramist and co-op member Linda Gusic Winegar ’72 told the newspaper. “He not only imparted the skills, techniques, and knowledge for many people to carve a career in clay, but, by his example, conveyed to his students the idea that a life within the arts and in service to the arts was one of personal fulfillment and of significant value to our communities.” In addition, many of the artists also were featured in a Frank Ross Legacy show in the gallery at Pittsburgh’s Manchester Craftsmen’s Guild. (The ceramic studio at that facility was recently dedicated to the memory of Ross and of his wife, Nancy, who died with her husband in 1980.) In addition to Winegar, IUP alumni participants in the Artists’ Co-op exhibit were Ray Dunlevy ’65, M’68; Michele Soyka Horosko ’72; Karen Howell ’72, M’76; Duke Miecznikowski ’67; Susan Phillips ’70; and James Winegar ’70, M’72.

James Anderson was a member of the Psychology faculty at IUP in the late eighties and early nineties. In June, he became chancellor of Fayetteville State University, which is part of the University of North Carolina system. He went to Fayetteville from the State University of New York’s University at Albany, where he was vice president for student success and vice provost for institutional assessment and diversity. Earlier, he had been associated with Texas A&M University and North Carolina State University, his destination when he left IUP.

Nancy Newkerk, whose association with IUP spanned five decades and several different student affairs areas, was honored in April by the Indiana (Pa.) branch of the American Association of University Women as a Notable Woman of 2008. She has continued to live in Indiana since her retirement.

Since the death of IUP professor of organ Carol Teti in 2000, many of her former students and associates have gathered for recitals in her memory. Often, the events also raise funds for an IUP organ scholarship named in Teti’s memory. In April, Michael Long M’97, James Riggs M’97, and Vincent Ryan ’94, M’95 presented a recital at Latrobe (Pa.) Presbyterian Church [photo]. The three musicians all studied and completed their Master of Arts in organ performance with Teti. As students, they presented a combined recital at Indiana’s Zion Lutheran Church in 1994. Now, all three hold positions as directors of music in churches—Riggs in Shaker Heights, Ohio; Long at Latrobe Presbyterian; and Ryan in Harleysville, Pa. According to Ryan, “The Carol Teti Memorial Organ Scholarship Committee has done remarkable work raising awareness of the need for organists.” To date, several organ students have benefited from the scholarship, and the committee has also hosted a competition for student organists.