IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |

Presidency Again in Transition

Diane Reinhard

Diane Reinhard

After five months as IUP president, Derek J. Hodgson announced his resignation in January, citing personal reasons. Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education Chancellor Judy G. Hample appointed retired Clarion University of Pennsylvania President Diane L. Reinhard as Hodgson’s interim successor.

A national search has the goal of a new president in place by the beginning of the Fall, 2004, semester.

Reinhard served more than twelve years as Clarion’s president. Before that, she was dean of the College of Human Resources and Education at West Virginia University and served ten months as WVU’s acting president. She holds a doctoral degree from Ohio State University and bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee.

In a State System news release, Chancellor Hample said, “Dr. Reinhard provided outstanding leadership to Clarion University during her tenure as president. I am confident she will provide that same type of leadership to IUP and will work well with the university’s Council of Trustees, faculty, staff, and students to keep this proud institution moving forward.”