Outstanding English Majors


  • BS: Anna Lang
  • BA: Joseph Kukula and Yiling Chen


  • BS: Cassandra Eagan
  • BA: Mariel Nupp


  • BS: Elizabeth Warner
  • BA: Jacob Sloan

Outstanding fourth-year:

  • BA: Alexa Kline
  • BS: Nick Marsellas


  • BS: Jonathan Rhodes
  • BA: Ashley Stoner

Claudette Dolan Student Service Award

  • Hannah Matthews
  • Honorable Mention: Kelly Davis

Outstanding Internship Award

  • Johanna Thompson

Outstanding Professors

  • BA:John Branscum
  • ED: Dr. Emily Wender

Outstanding Advisers

  • BA:Chris Orchard
  • ED:Jo-Anne Kerr

Annual English Department Student Writing Contest Winners

Creative Non-Fiction

  1. Jesse Cole: "The Unbraiding"
  2. Ashley Stoner, "The New Nigerian Hope: Daddy Ugbede"

Critical Essay

  1. Nick Marsellas: "An Argument for Queer Jamaican Nationalism in The True History of Paradise"
  2. Jacob Sloan: "A Kind of Ethics: Structure, Totality, and the Persistence of Utopian Possibility in Ayi kwei Armah's The beautyful One Are Not Yet Born."

Linda Haldeman Short Fiction

  1. Allyson Leskovic, "Take One Twice a Day"
  2. Justin Bogar, "Pneuma Astheneias"
  3. Vincent "Sonny" Smarra, "Hunger Pains"

Pedagogical Writing

  1. Alexa Kline: "Unit Plan: Reading Historical Fiction"
  2. Johanna Thompson: "Contrast & Contradiction in Sherman Alexie's The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian"
  3. Beth Warner: "Contrasts & Contradictions"

Richard Hazley Poetry

  1. Jesse Cole, "Ode to the Cheat"
  2. Anna Lang, "Hiraeth"
  3. Renee Irwin, "A Hopeless Romantic in a World of Reality"
  4. Honorable mention: Allyson Leskovic, "My Aunt Paints Bible Verses on River Rocks"

English Student Organization Officers

New Growth Arts Review Editors

  • Matthew Faddis
  • Beth Warner
  • Megan McIntyre
  • Marquel Sherry
  • Kimberly Messer
  • Jesse McFadden Cole
  • Ursus Fedin
  • Patrick Haynes
  • Ian Wallace Taggart


  • Johanna Thompson, President
  • Elizabeth Warner, Vice President
  • Sequoia Van Camp, Treasurer
  • Emily Tkacik, Secretary
  • Nicolette Deyarmin, Historian

Sigma Tau Delta

  • Nick Marsellas, President
  • Dana Formaini, Vice President
  • Ashley Stoner, Treasurer
  • Andy Wolfe, Secretary
  • Briana Richardson-Jones, Historian
  • Brittany Hilton, Public Relations
  • Ailey Clark, Public Relations
  • Zack Merritt, Academic Chair
  • Jess Stewart