Outstanding English Majors

  • First-Year BA: Igor Zagradanin
  • First-Year ED: Olivia Wolfe
  • Second-Year BA: Jacob Sloan
  • Second-Year ED: Elizabeth Warner
  • Third-Year BA: Gabrielle Bradshaw
  • Third-Year ED: Tori Loch
  • Valedictorian BA: Lindsey Quakenbush
  • Valedictorian ED: Ashley Bronakowski

Claudette Dolan Student Service Award

  • Nicholas Marsellas and Emily Weber

Outstanding Internship Award

  • Lindsey Quakenbush

Outstanding Professors

  • BA: Dr. John Branscum
  • ED: Dr. Emily Wender

Outstanding Advisers

  • BA: Dr. Mike Sell
  • ED: Dr. Helen Sitler

Annual English Department Student Writing Contest Winners

Creative Non-Fiction

  • 1st: Alyssa Altman: During and After 1,095 Days
  • 2nd: Elle Ladebu: Touch
  • 3rd: Emily Weber: Cleaning House
  • Honorable Mention: Joseph Canton: Shot in the Heart

Critical Essay

  • 1st: Jacob Sloan: "Yes, SirMa'am I Mane": Tradition, Modernity, and Gender Subversion in Far From the Madding Crowd
  • 2nd: Chelsea O'Hanlon: Impotence and Sexuality in Bonnie and Clyde

Linda Haldeman Short Fiction

  • 1st: Katherine Lewis: Montana Blues
  • 2nd: Clare Welsh: The Vanishes
  • 3rd: Emily Weber: The Necklace

Pedagogical Writing

  • 1st: Michael Tosti: "Stargirl": A Unit Plan for 10-Grade Language Arts
  • 2nd: Alyssa Altman: Four Types of Poetry: A Unit Plan
  • 3rd: Ashley Bronakowski: New Places, New Faces: Examining Esperanza Rising
  • Honorable Mention: Chelsea O'Hanlon: The Outsiders: Is One's Identity Shaped by One's Surroundings?

Richard Hazley Poetry

  • 1st: Clare Welsh: Ghost Plane
  • 2nd: Katherine Lewis: Leukemia and Kissing
  • 3rd: Emily Weber: My Dog Watched Me Dress in the Dark

Rosaly Roffman Innovation

  • 1st: Alonna Cuffe: I Cried Tears Over a Man I Never Met


  • 1st: Ciara Irwin: Scars

English Student Organization Officers

New Growth Arts Review

  • Editor in Chief: Kathleen Sallada
  • Editor: Samuel Sullivan
  • Editor: Megan McIntyre
  • Editor: Renee Irwin
  • Editor: Marquel Sherry
  • Editor: Haley Woodley
  • Editor: Kiana McLeodEditorial Assistant: Matthew Faddis


  • President: Chelsea O'Hanlon
  • President: Ashley Bronakowski
  • Vice-President: Elizabeth Warner
  • Vice-President: Chelsea O'Hanlon
  • Secretary: Johanna Thompson
  • Historian: Alaina Richardson
  • Treasurer: Angela Lakis

Sigma Tau Delta

  • President: Emily Weber
  • Vice-President: Lindsey Quakenbush
  • Secretary: Christina Soracco
  • Treasurer: Nicholas Marsellas
  • Publicist: Elle Ladebu