Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

First Commonwealth Center for Economic Education


The First Commonwealth Center for Economic Education is located in the Department of Economics in McElhaney Hall. The center is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization affiliated with both EconomicsPennsylvania (formerly known as the Pennsylvania Partnership for Economic Education and the Pennsylvania Council on Economic Education) and Economics America (the National Council on Economic Education). Its mission is to help upgrade the quality of economic education in grades kindergarten through twelve through teacher training, consulting services, research, and materials development. The service area covers Indiana and Westmoreland counties. It is codirected by Dr. James J. Jozefowicz,, and Dr. Stephanie M. Jozefowicz,

The center offers:

  • Teacher training to increase teachers’ knowledge of basic economic concepts and to familiarize them with the methods, strategies, and materials necessary to impart that knowledge to students
  • Consulting services to assist local school districts, education agencies, and community groups regarding needs assessments, curriculum development, course content, resource materials, and strategies
  • Research to evaluate existing program effectiveness, to measure student learning, and to determine the most effective tools and methods for the delivery of high-quality economic education
  • Materials development and dissemination to develop and distribute resource materials useful in the economic education movement
  • Economic education for other audiences to organize, sponsor, and conduct programs in economic education for adult constituencies, such as clergy, media, legislators, and management


Interesting Links


For information, contact the First Commonwealth Center for Economic Education  at

  • Economics Department
  • McElhaney Hall, Room 213
    441 North Walk
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2640
  • Fax: 724-357-6485
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.