Annual Distinguished Family Business Award

  • The Distinguished Family Business Award is given annually to a family that has achieved excellence in its industry, contributed significantly to its community, and successfully succeeded ownership and management to the second generation or beyond.

    The business is chosen by Robert Camp, dean of the Eberly College of Business and Information Technology, and committee members. This recognition was created to increase awareness of the importance of family-owned businesses, which employ more than 62 percent of America’s work force and produce 64 percent of the gross domestic product.  

    The 2016 award went to the Delaney Family of Delaney Automotive Group. Previous winners of the Distinguished Family Business Award include: 422 Home Sales; Benzel Pretzel Bakery; Colonial Motor Mart; Diamond Drugs, Inc.; Gorell Enterprises, Inc.; Howard Hanna Real Estate Services; Indiana Printing & Publishing Company; James Industries, Slinky Toys; Keystone Foam Corporation; McLanahan Corporation; Seven Springs Mountain Resort; Snyder Associated Companies; Wayne S. Lockard Family; Sheetz Convenience Stores; and the Reschini Group.