Three Communications Media Students Selected for McNair Scholars Program

Posted on 5/3/2010 12:02:29 PM

Nineteen new scholars have been selected to participate in the IUP McNair Scholars program for the 2010–2011 academic year, and three of this prestigious group of students were chosen from the Communications Media Department.

The students were chosen from more than twenty-five competitive applicants to join six continuing scholars from 2009. This academically high-caliber group represents a diverse sampling of disciplines at IUP. Students were chosen from the Eberly College of Business and Information Technology, the College of Education and Educational Technology, the College of health and Human Services, the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics. Nasia Flood, Daniel Shearer, and Ainyae Stratton are the three exemplary students chosen from the Communications Media Department.

The scholars will all partake in a summer research program where they will receive a stipend and room and board while they take a course on research methods and develop their research project under direction from a faculty mentor. On June 24 and 25, the scholars will have an opportunity to present their research proposal in a local symposium sponsored by the McNair Scholars program.

By Zachary Salopek