Chemistry Club Receives National Award

Posted on 10/15/2009 11:55:50 AM

The American Chemical Society (ACS) student chapter in the Department of Chemistry was given its second Honorable Mention Award from the National ACS Office for its 2008–2009 club activities.

Over 360 club reports from around the U.S. were submitted to the Society Committee on Education last year. Of those, thirty-five received Outstanding, sixty-eight received Commendable, and 119 received Honorable Mention. Criteria for ranking student chapters include the number of student members, participation in community events, service to the university and student body, club activities, and monies raised/donated.

“This is a nice recognition for all the hard work and time that our students put into this club,” says Nathan McElroy, the faculty advisor of the club. “Our club members offer free tutoring four nights a week, donate at least $1,000 a year to local elementary and high school science programs, and give demonstrations during academic expos here at IUP and at the Carnegie Science Center during National Chemistry Week. All of the students did a great job last year.”

Club officers for the 2008–2009 year were: President Olivia McGovern, Vice-President Jessica Nichol, Treasurer Beth Leverett, and Secretary Maura Barrett.

The first Honorable Mention Award was given to the club for its 2006–2007 accomplishments.