Mathematics Department Awards Scholarships

Posted on 5/15/2009 10:27:18 AM

The Mathematics Department awarded scholarships for the 2009–10 academic year at a banquet on April 17, 2009.

The James A. Boytim, Ed.D. Scholarship in Mathematics is awarded to a senior in the Mathematics Department who is of good character and who demonstrates the promise of future success in the education profession. This year’s winner is Annalese Weldy from Canonsburg, Pa. Annalese is a Secondary Mathematics Education major. She was joined at the banquet by one of the people who inspired her, Susan Stonebraker, her elementary school principal.

Kaitlyn Yeomans is the recipient of the Dr. Willard W. Hennemann, Jr., Memorial Scholarship, awarded to a deserving and worthy student with a strong commitment in the field of mathematics education at the elementary or middle school level. Kaitlyn is an Elementary Education major with a Mathematics concentration from Creekside, Pa.

This year’s Tony and Carole Kuczinski Memorial Scholarship winner is Tiffany Cornman, a secondary Mathematics Education major from Home, Pa. Tiffany credits the teachers she had as a student for her decision to pursue mathematics education.

The Arthur G. Morrell Memorial Scholarship is given to a Mathematics major completing the sophomore or junior year at IUP who best reflects the character and interests of Captain Arthur G. Morrell. This year two scholarships were awarded, to Antonio Ayllon and Sarah Romasco. Antonio is an Economics/Mathematics major from Avondale, Pa., who is originally from Mexico. Sarah is a Secondary Mathematics Education major from Freedom, Pa., and is the latest in our tradition of scholar athletes. Sarah a first team member of the ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District II squad for women’s soccer.

The second James R. Myers Scholarship was awarded to Rachel Holuta from Indiana, Pa. Rachel is an Elementary Education major with a Mathematics concentration. Rachel was able to meet with Dr. Myers’ family during the ceremony.

The Mildred M. Reigh Scholarship was awarded to Julie Kardell of Indiana, Pa. Julie teaches at the Seeds of Faith Christian Academy in Indiana and is looking to finish her degree in Secondary Mathematics Education.

This year there were two winners of the Rebecca A. Stoudt Memorial Scholarship for Mathematics: Jessica Schnebel and Amelia Uecker. Jessica is a Secondary Mathematics Education major from Pittsburgh who is active in dance and the Robert E. Cook Honors College. Amelia is another Cook Honors College student majoring in Mathematics and Physics. Amelia is from Mason, Ohio, and active in Bella Voce, a choral group that performs at local nursing homes.

The awards banquet is a special time in the life of the department as we honor both our current outstanding students and the IUP faculty and alumni who are an important part of our past.