Criminology Awardees Recognized at Recent ACJS Meeting

Posted on 3/30/2009 9:27:31 AM

Faculty members, graduate students, and alumni of IUP’s Criminology Department were recognized at the annual meeting of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences held in Boston, Mass., in March 2009.

  • Dr. Alida Merlo, professor of criminology, received the Becky Tatum Excellence Award from the Minorities and Women’s Section in recognition of her far-reaching contributions to the discipline.
  • Doctoral student Katie L. Herman was awarded the Minorities and Women’s Section Esther Madriz Student Travel Award for her paper “Victimization of Women: Different Perceptions of the Definition of Rape.”

Graduates of the Criminology doctoral program were also recognized at the national conference:

  • Dr. George Higgins, currently of the University of Louisville, was awarded the Minority and Women’s Section Leadership Award

And three alumnae received the Sage Publications Award for Teaching:

  • Dr. Danielle McDonald
  • Dr. Alison S. Burke
  • Dr. Rebecca (Boyd) Howell