Liberty Mutual Insurance Coach of the Year Winners Announced

Posted on 1/26/2009 12:24:23 PM

The Office of Alumni Relations thanks all who voted for Lou Tepper, IUP football coach, in Liberty Mutual Insurance’s 2008 Coach of the Year competition.

The Division II winner was Chuck Broyles of Pittsburg State University.

Other winners were as follows:

  • Division IA: Nick Saban, University of Alabama
  • Division IAA: Mickey Matthews, James Madison University
  • Division III: Larry Kehres, Mount Union College

Winners in each division were chosen through a combination of votes from fans and a selection committee, which included members of the College Football Hall of Fame and the national media.

According to information from Liberty Mutual Insurance, the award honors coaches who best demonstrate sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility, and excellence, on and off the field.

Find more information about competition results on the Coach of the Year website.