Newkerk Scholarship Awarded for 2019

Posted on 10/23/2019 10:26:06 AM

Kristen Shimko and Tyler Montgomery with their Newkerk AwardsThe Department of Student Affairs in Higher Education is pleased to announce two recipients of the Nancy Newkerk Scholarship for 2019: Tyler Montgomery and Kristen Shimko.

Since 1999, the Nancy Newkerk Scholarship has been awarded to deserving second-year SAHE graduate students who demonstrate outstanding contributions to college students, student affairs activities, the SAHE Department, and the broader higher education community.

Nancy Newkerk served as dean of women at IUP (then Indiana State Teachers College) from 1957 to 1967 and as associate dean of Admissions at IUP from 1978 until her retirement in 1994. She was awarded the IUP President’s Medal of Distinction in 2009.  

Newkerk scholarship recipients are selected on the qualities that reflect Ms. Newkerk’s own professional career in student affairs: a collaborative colleague, a student-centered practitioner, and a role model for citizenship and civic responsibility.

Montgomery ’20 is a graduate of IUP and holds an assistantship in the College of Education and Communications’ Diversity and Inclusion Standing Committee. He also has experience in the IUP Office of the Registrar and at Shippensburg University’s Office of Student Conduct. Montgomery brings solid interpersonal skills, creativity and solutions, and strong ethic of benefiting students to his practice.

Shimko ’20 is a graduate of Wheeling Jesuit University and works at the University of Pittsburgh, Greensburg, as a graduate resident director. She has experience in student activities at St. Vincent College and new student orientation programs at Murray State University in Kentucky. Shimko is uniformly recognized for her boundless energy, enthusiasm, resourcefulness, and high-quality work.

The Newkerk scholarships were announced at the College of Education and Communications’ 2019 Alumni, Faculty, and Student Scholars Reception on October 17, 2019.