Student Affairs Division Opening: New Year, New VP

Posted on 10/1/2019 3:23:33 PM

The Division of Student Affairs officially opened the 2019–20 school year with its division opening on Thursday, September 5.  Departments from across the division were in attendance to gather together, hear from President Michael Driscoll and the new vice president of Student Affairs, Thomas Segar, and celebrate the winners of the 2018–19 David DeCoster Excellence in Assessment Award.  This year was the 10th year that the award has been presented.

Thomas Segar congratulates Jessica Miller and David Myers, the 2019 DeCoster Award WinnersThe event, which was emceed by Special Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs (Interim) Malaika Turner, was attended by over 60 individuals from across the division.

For many members of the division, the opening provides a chance to gather together as one unit and look towards the school year ahead. Participants took part in interactive exercises that worked as both icebreakers and opportunities to facilitate critical discussion around the division and university. 

And, while addressing the audience, Segar also announced the creation of the new Student Affairs Innovation Award, which will recognize creative and innovative efforts from division members that positively influences student success outcomes.

Student Affairs Division 2019

A special shoutout goes out to Jessica Miller and David Myers, who were named this year’s DeCoster Award Winners. Additionally, Segar recognized the work of the Professional Development Committee, and said he looks forward to many more events like this in the future. He also deeply appreciated both the “fun” gifts and serious gifts presented to him on behalf of his Student Affairs colleagues. He was both amused and touched for this warm welcome to IUP.