Alumnus Holben '85 Honored at Celebration of Philanthropy

Posted on 7/8/2019 11:39:26 AM

L to R: David Holben, Leigh Ann Shoemaker, Elexsis Robison, Saige Karastury, Rita Johnson, Kaylee Kassa

In fall 2018, David Holben ’85 and Lisa Holben made a lead gift to establish a scholarship fund for dietetics majors.

The scholarship is named in honor of Rita Johnson, who recently retired from the Food and Nutrition Department.

Holben was officially recognized on April 4, 2019, at the Celebration of Philanthropy event, where he was joined by Johnson, chair; Elexsis Robison, the first scholarship recipient; and three dietetics majors who are members of the Honors College. Holben is a professor in the Department of Nutrition and Hospitality Management and Gillespie Distinguished Scholar of Nutrition at the University of Mississippi.

If you’d like to make a gift to the Rita Johnson Legacy Scholarship*, you can do so by visiting the Rita M. Johnson Legacy Scholarship giving page.

Left to right in photo: David Holben (’85), Leigh Ann Shoemaker, scholarship recipient Elexsis Robison, Saige Karastury, Professor Rita Johnson, and Kaylee Kassa.

*To endow the fund so that it may be awarded in perpetuity, a goal of $25,000 has been set. Should the $25,000 threshold not be met, all gifts will be awarded under the established criteria until the balance reaches zero.