Hospitality Management Student Awards and Scholarship Recipients for 2019

Posted on 4/24/2019 1:33:40 PM

Awards Banquet Group Photo

The 2019 Department of Hospitality Management’s annual Recognition Awards Dinner was held on Sunday, April 7, 2019, at the Rustic Lodge. The department recognized student achievement, service, academic scholarship, and leadership. Hospitality industry professionals were recognized for their dedicated support to the department and students. Chairperson Stephen B. Shiring, EdD, MBA, was the master of ceremonies.

Following introductions, College of Health and Human Services Dean Mary Williams, PhD, welcomed the students and their families, industry professionals, faculty, and honored guests. 

Representing University Advancement was Emily Smeltz, Development Officer, CHHS.

Presenting the 2018–2019 awards for outstanding junior and outstanding senior in the categories of service, leadership, and academic excellence, as well as the freshman and sophomore academic excellence awards was Yasong (Alex) Wang, PhD. 

The Outstanding Junior Award winners were Rebecca Grundy for Academics, Megan Perz for Leadership and Matthew Marinchek for Service. 

The Outstanding Senior Award winners were both Michael Anthony and Erin Bertuzzi for Academics, Melissa Colbaugh for Leadership, and Jennifer Seefeld for Service.

The Freshman Award for Academic Excellence was awarded to both Emily Stull and Rachel Johnson.

The Sophomore award for Academic Excellence was awarded to Kaleigh Casey.

Recognizing student scholarship award recipients was Jeffrey Santicola. Hospitality Management students received the following scholarships:

  • Laura Mateer Scholarship: Stecha Cott-Mercado
  • William Gressley Memorial Scholarship: Jennifer Seefeld
  • John J. and Mary Louise Scanlan and James and Madelyn Reilly Scholarship for Hospitality Management: Kiera Brumbaugh
  • Elizabeth LaVelle Scholarship: Sadie Lightner, Issac Lowe and Madison Weinstein
  • Pittsburgh Club Managers Foundation (PCMF) Internship Scholarship: Matthew Marinchek
  • Pittsburgh Club Managers Foundation (PCMF) Distinguished IUP Hospitality Management Student Scholarship: Matthew Marinchek
  • Patricia Brown Simkins & Ronald E. Simkins Scholarship: Kaleigh Casey
  • Western PA Broker Association Scholarship: Julia Cresta
  • SKAL International Pittsburgh Tourism and Hospitality Management Scholarship: Carly Huff

The Department of Hospitality Management is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Management (ACPHA).