Fortieth Annual Chemistry Department Awards

Posted on 4/28/2008 2:05:52 PM

Friday, April 25 marked the Fortieth Annual IUP Department of Chemistry Awards Ceremony and Reception. At 3:30 in Weyandt 32, students and their families, staff, and faculty gathered to recognize students in the department for their academic achievements in the 2007-08 year.

The 2008 Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh Award for Outstanding Achievement was given to Ms. Kaycie Butler. In addition, she was recognized by her peers and presented the ACS Student Affiliate Member of the Year.

The Division of Analytical Chemistry American Chemical Society 2008 Undergraduate Award was presented to Ms. Beth Leverett.

The William I. Heard Memorial Scholarship was given to Ms. Lacie Buxton.

The Edward N. Brown Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Ms. Elizabeth Paladin.

Both Mr. Andrew Kerr and Ms. Tracey Baker were awarded Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant.

The Graduate Teaching Assistant award went to Ms. Francisca Sekyere.

The Graduate Research award went to Mr. Einstein Djabeng.

The Graduate Academic Excellence award went to Mr. Sean Smith.

The Freshman CRC Handbook Award was given to Mr. Jonathan Henninger.

The following students, by year, were recipients of Academic Achievement Awards:


  • Ms. Brittany Baird
  • Mr. Robert Bauer
  • Ms. Kaycie Butler
  • Mr. John Crandall
  • Mr. Andrew Kerr
  • Mr. Jeffrey Layton
  • Ms. Nicole Morozowich
  • Mr. Antonio Scatena



  • Ms. Tracey Baker
  • Ms. Brittany Buterbaugh
  • Ms. Lacie Buxton
  • Ms. Jane Calvert
  • Mr. Andrew Friday
  • Mr. Brandon Jones
  • Ms. Beth Leverett
  • Ms. Olivia McGovern
  • Mr. Chad Meyers
  • Ms. Jessica Nichol
  • Ms. Elizabeth Paladin
  • Ms. Galit Regev
  • Ms. Aubree Webb
  • Mr. Joseph Wiley
  • Ms. Caitlin Williamson



  • Ms. Olumayowa Azeez
  • Ms. Maura Barrett
  • Ms. Jennifer Beveridge
  • Mr. Justin Williams


First Years:

  • Mr. David Ankney
  • Ms. Deanna Belsky
  • Ms. Kimberly Boonie
  • Mr. Chris Chambers
  • Mr. Stephen Christensen
  • Ms. Victoria Constant
  • Ms. Alex Daughenbaugh
  • Ms. Laura Fox
  • Mr. Jonathan Henninger
  • Ms. Samantha Leone
  • Mr. Andrew Lightner
  • Ms. Mairi Lindsay
  • Ms. Lisa McCombie
  • Mr. Joseph Reichard
  • Mr. Stephen Shiring
  • Mr. Cory Stahlman
  • Ms. Andrea Strein
  • Ms. Ashley Swiderski
  • Ms. Nadia Szymanski
  • Mr. Christopher Taylor
  • Mr. Kevin Taylor
  • Mr. Rongjin Weng
  • Mr. James Zewe


For older posts, please continue to view the Chemistry Department's Blogger Page.