IUP Jazz Festival to Feature One O’Clock Band

Posted on 3/20/2019 9:48:55 AM

University of North Texas logoThe Department of Music at Indiana University of Pennsylvania presents the 19th annual IUP Jazz Festival. This year’s festival will be held in Fisher Auditorium in the Performing Arts Center on the IUP campus on Sunday, April 7, and will feature two concerts.

The first concert will begin at 4:00 p.m. and will feature the IUP Jazz Ensembles along with special guests. The second concert will begin at 7:00 p.m. and will feature the world-renowned, Grammy Award-winning big band from Texas, the University of North Texas One O’Clock Lab Band. 

The IUP Jazz Band, led by James Flowers, professor of saxophone, and the IUP Jazz Ensemble, directed by Kevin Eisensmith, professor of trumpet, will perform at 4:00 p.m. Each band is made up of 18 musicians from various fields of study within the university. Throughout the years, many well-known guest artists have performed at the IUP Jazz Festival, including trumpeters Vince DiMartino, Marvin Stamm, Rex Richardson, and George Rabbai; drummers Steve Houghton, Ed Soph, and Steve Fidyk; trombonists John Fedchock, Jim McFalls, Wycliffe Gordon, Harry Watters, and David Gibson; and saxophonists Chris Vadala, Joe Eckert, and Pete BarenBregge.

At 7:00 that evening the University of North Texas One O’Clock Lab Band, led by Alan Baylock, will perform. The One O’Clock Lab Band has, for 71 years, been the premier ensemble of the Jazz Studies Division at the University of North Texas College of Music. The band has performed and toured in Australia, Canada, England, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Switzerland, Thailand, and the Netherlands. Since the 1970s, the band’s albums have received seven Grammy nominations.

The One O’Clock is the highest of nine jazz bands at the college, each named for its hour of rehearsal and each a standard 19-piece big band instrumentation: five saxophones, five trombones, five trumpets, piano, guitar, bass, and drums. The band is led by Alan Baylock. Baylock, a native of Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, served as the chief arranger for the Airmen of Note jazz ensemble in Washington, DC for 20 years before moving in 2016 to his current position as director of the One O’Clock Lab Band. Baylock’s music has been performed and/or recorded by jazz greats Maynard Ferguson, Freddie Hubbard, Michael Brecker, Phil Woods, David Liebman, Jerry Bergonzi, Bobby Shew, Kenny Werner, Paquito D’Rivera, Nnenna Freelon, Tierney Sutton, and many more. His eclectic talents have also led him to writing music for Roy Clark, Clint Black, Wynonna, Patti LaBelle, Chaka Khan, Spyro Gyra, Ronan Tynan, and symphony orchestras across the country and abroad. An inspiring educator, Alan continues to write music for high school and collegiate-level jazz ensembles, much of which is published by Alfred Music.

Tickets are available for purchase online through the Lively Arts website or by calling the ticket hotline at 724-357-1313. They can also be purchased at the Performing Arts Center Ticket Office in Fisher Auditorium. Any seats remaining will be sold at the door starting one hour prior to the performance. Tickets are priced at $10 for regular admission, $8 for seniors and groups, and $6 for I-Card, military, students, and children. Online tickets are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The ticket hotline and ticket office in Fisher Auditorium are open from noon to 5:00 p.m. weekdays.

To avoid a $3/ticket fee, please purchase your tickets in advance of the day of the show at the ticket office. The ticket office is closed for university holidays.

For more information on this and other events as well as group tickets within the Lively Arts, call 724-357-2787 (ARTS) or email lively-arts@iup.edu.