Hospitality Management Student Awarded Two Scholarships by Club Managers Association of America

Posted on 12/4/2018 1:42:23 PM

Matthew Marinchek receiving the awards from George ThomasOn Monday, November 12, 2018, George Thomas, general manager for the Club at Nevillewood and president of the Pittsburgh Club Managers Foundation (PCMF), awarded to Matthew Marinchek, a sophomore in the Department of Hospitality Management at IUP and a member of the student chapter of the Club Managers Association of America, both the prestigious PCMF Internship Scholarship and the distinguished IUP Hospitality Management Student Scholarship. 

The awards came during the annual meeting dinner and vendor show of the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Club Managers Association of America, held at the Shannopin Country Club, Ben Avon Heights, Pittsburgh.

Marinchek said, “I’m proud to have been selected, and I’m truly honored to be able to represent both Indiana University of Pennsylvania and the Department of Hospitality Management in accepting these generous scholarships.” Matthew is the son of Tanice and Rick Marinchek of Latrobe, Pennsylvania.

Since the PCMF founding in June 2017, the Foundation members have worked closely with Stephen Shiring, chairperson, and Yasong (Alex) Wang, associate professor, of the Department of Hospitality Management to provide networking and educational opportunities for student CMAA members. Both Shiring and Wang serve as governors on the PCMF and have actively advocated the Foundation in creating and offering both student scholarships to support students at IUP. This is the first time the PCMF has awarded both scholarships since it was founded.

CMAA is the national professional association for club managers. CMAA promotes the education, social interaction, and professional development of its members through educational seminars, conferences, club management certification, professional coaching, and networking opportunities.

The Department of Hospitality Management proudly hosts a student chapter of the CMAA. The department is accredited by Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA).