Paz and Mocek Win George Krull/Grant Thornton 2018 Teaching Innovation Award

Posted on 9/17/2018 8:45:28 AM

The AICPA Pre-Certification Education Executive Committee’s Teaching Innovation Task Force and the Effective Learning Strategies Task Form committee awarded Veronica Paz and Lynnan Mocek with the George Krull/Grant Thornton 2018 Teaching Innovation Award for their work “Show and Tell: Infographics to Keep and Sustain Engagement.

Veronica PazThis award is given by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the premier international organization for CPAs, at the American Accounting Association ELS presentations. This award is for teaching innovations for junior/senior-level accounting courses.

Veronica Paz presented the work at the American Accounting Association annual meeting in August 2018 in National Harbor, Maryland, which was attended by more than 3,000 accounting academics and practitioners.

The Task Force evaluated a formidable cadre of submissions and related materials to select the winner.  The authors are invited to present their work at the Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting as part of the AAA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California, in August 2019. In addition, the authors will be recognized and bestowed an award plaque and monetary prize of $5,000 at the CTLA Conference Luncheon.

Lynnan Mocek The materials from their submissions will be posted to the AICPA Accounting Professors’ Curriculum Tool in the near term. All materials are currently available at Veronica Paz’s website for instructional resources for numerous accounting courses. To contact the authors, please visit Veronica Paz’s website.

Robert Camp, dean of the IUP Eberly College of Business and Information Technology, extends congratulations to Paz and Mocek. “We are very pleased that Dr. Paz and Dr. Mocek worked across academic units and collaborated on this innovative teaching project”, said Camp. “Selection and recognition by the AICPA is an immense honor and brings prestige, not only to the two authors, but also to the university and to our accounting program.”