Undergraduate Scholars Forum 2008 Winners Announced

Posted on 4/15/2008 3:48:41 PM

The third annual Undergraduate Scholars Forum took place April 1 at IUP, showcasing student research and artistic creations across disciplines. Following is a list of award recipients from the conference.

Best Presentation Awards

Awards were presented for Best Presentation from each of the nineteen concurrent sessions at the forum. The Best Presentation in Session winners were as follows:

  • Thomas Melvin and Angelo Manifest
    Department of Biology
    “Science Where Students Develop Their Own Labs: A Model of Inquiry”
  • Lauren Venturino
    Department of Economics
    “The Practiced and the Preached: An Analysis of State Divorce Rates and Religious Participation”
  • Lindy Kopicki
    Department of Sociology
    “Gender Differences in Preference for Community Pull Factors”
  • Jeremy DeLuca
    Department of Music
    “The Evolution of the Marching Arts”
  • Janelle Porter
    Department of Food and Nutrition
    “Local Determinants of Malnutrition in Bolivian Children”
  • Beth Leverett
    Department of Chemistry
    “A Crystallographic Detective Story: Solving the Li2ZnSnS4 Structure”
  • Raymond Elliott
    Department of History
    “Seeking Social Change: The Role of African-American Churches During the Civil Rights Movement”
  • Sonya Seitz
    Department of Art
    “Disability Awareness and Documentation Through Art”
  • Julianne Gillespie
    Department of Health and Physical Education
    “Physical Activity and Depression/Anxiety Levels”
  • Sean Olson
    Department of Computer Science
    “Measuring Digital Image Similarity Using a New Histogram-Based Approach”
  • Loni Yatsko
    Department of Sociology
    “Buzz Cuts and Poly-Blends: How Lesbian Self-Concepts are Affected by Lesbians in the Media”
  • Aaron Treher
    Department of Art
    “Evolutionary Understanding”
  • Alicia Rich
    Department of Anthropology
    “Who’s the Boss: Female Competition, Conflict, and Alliances During Transfer of Western Lowland Gorilla Females”
  • Natalia Kaniasty
    Department of Theater and Dance
    “Dramatizing Interview Material: Strategies of Documentary Drama”
  • Courtney Cullen
    Department of Art
    “The Critique”
  • Mara Iverson
    Department of History
    “Hues of Heresy: A Contextual Analysis of the Galileo Affair”
  • Mandy Moser
    Department of Criminology
    “Juvenile Justice: A review of Juvenile Transfer”
  • Laura Heiman
    Department of History
    “Buying History: A Historical Analysis of Museum Funding”
  • Charles Stanavich
    Department of Political Science
    “Private Military Companies: A Question of Integration”

Best Poster Awards

Awards were presented for Best Poster from each college.

College of Education and Educational Technology

Stephanie Fitzpatrick
Department of Special Education and Clinical Services
“School Counseling Needs of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing”

College of Health and Human Services

Ginger Lucas, Kevin Martincic, and Robert Ritenour
Department of Criminology
“Community Re-entry after Imprisonment”

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Kenneth Glassford
Department of Biology
“Roles of p53 and BCL-2 as Localized Prostate Cancer Indicators, Using Immunohistochemical Analysis”

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Kasie Pletcher
Department of Sociology
“I Can Do Anything You Can Do Better: Gender and Perceptions of Leadership Effectiveness”

College of Fine Arts

Jessica Sabol
Department of Theater and Dance
“The Beauty Queen of Leenane”: Unearthing a Culture, Cultivating a Story”

Eberly College of Business and Information Technology

Mallory Blaniar, Anthony Almond, and Paul Valdiserri
Department of Management
“The Economic Effects of Mardi Gras on New Orleans Business Structure”


Robert Roche, Pierino Delli Bovi, Craig Peterson, and Hansen Wijaya
“Making a Great City Better”

Best Performance Award

Michael Dooley
Department of Music
“Ilijas: Odd Meter and Odd Technique”

Best Bibliography Awards

The IUP Libraries presented awards for the Best Bibliography for a Submitted Paper or Presentation. 

First Place, Best Overall Sources

Sasha M. King

First Runner-Up, Best Scientific Sources

Kalin Trevor McDannell

First Runner-Up, Best History Sources

Gina Anne Russo

Honorable Mention, Best Innovative Sources

Lauren Bazala
Sylvia Choi
Sean Riffle

Honorable Mention, Best Visual Arts Sources

Alisha McCurdy

Honorable Mention, Best Music Sources

Tracey Baker

Undergraduate Juried Art Exhibit Awards

The College of Fine Arts sponsored the Juried Art Exhibit awards.

First Place

Jason Brown, “Child in Play”

Second Place

Matt Madonna, “Reverse Evolution”

Third Place

Melissa Clutz, “Chestnut”

Fourth Place

Kyla Groat, “Silhouette”

Honorable Mentions

  • Stephen Nachreiner, “Wood Stool”
  • Joshua Kosker, “The Dreaming”
  • Joshua Kosker, “Use Me”
  • Stephanie Zini, “The Dance of the Twisted Souls”
  • Nicole Adams, “00925457”

Dean’s Award

Jason Brown, “Child in Play”

Sigma Xi Best Science Poster Awards

Sigma Xi presented awards for the Best Science Poster.

First Place

Antonio Scatena
Polymerase Chain Reaction: Amplification of RNA from Tomato Mosaic Virus

Second Place

Jason Wallach
Social Modulation of HVc auditory response in Taeniopygia guttata, Zebra finch

Third Place

Caitlin Williamson
Homology Modeling of Influenza A Virus Polymerase Basic 2 Subuint

Common Freshman Reader Awards

Common Freshman Reader Essay Winners

First-Year Student Essay Winner

Nicholas Haynos

First-Place Upper Class Student Essay Winner

Ian Duckworth

Second-Place Upper Class Student Essay Winner

Christina Roberts

Honorable Mention Essay Winners

  • Anthony Blair
  • Marianne Gumbosky
  • Jordan Pacific
  • Lauren Venturino

Creative Works Creativity Award

Monika Hofmann

Creative Works Content Award

  • Allyson Hale
  • Jill Barker