Bharadwaj Honored with GOPIO Award

Posted on 6/20/2018 3:33:13 PM

Prashanth Bharadwaj Honored with BOPIO Award June 18, 2018On June 10, 2018, Prashanth Bharadwaj, dean’s associate and Management Department professor, was recognized by the Global Organization of People of Indian Origin (GOPIO) during their award banquet and eighth anniversary celebration in Chantilly, Virginia. He was the recipient of the Award for Excellence in Education.

GOPIO is a nonprofit organization and serves as a nonpartisan, secular, civic, and community service organization that promotes awareness of Indian culture, customs, and contributions of people of Indian origin to local communities. It has chapters in 35 countries all over the world, including several in the United States. The GOPIO Virginia Chapter has organized conferences, public platforms on issues, community celebrations, and social service and philanthropic activities. It is also involved in business, technology, and investment activities. GOPIO gives out annual awards of excellence in six categories: education, entrepreneurship, science and technology, journalism, medicine, and fine arts.

At this year’s event, US Senator Timothy Kaine (Virginia) and US Congressman Gerald “Gerry” Connolly (Virginia 11th District) presented the awardees with both a plaque and with a US Congressional Record for their contributions in their fields.

Bharadwaj has initiated, facilitated, and coordinated educational activities between the United States and India since 2004 which have resulted in over 1,000 Indian students getting an American degree, nearly 200 American students engaging in short-term study abroad in India, nearly 50 American and Indian university faculty members teaching abroad in the host country, and 40 high school teachers and principals from the two countries engaging in collaborative activities.

Other awardees during the event included the following five individuals from the Virginia/Washington, DC area:

  • Ravi Chaudhary (director of Advanced Programs and Innovation, Office of Commercial Space Transportation at the Federal Aviation Administration) – Science and Technology Award
  • Ram Reddy (entrepreneur, investor, educator, and engineer, chairs a billion-dollar organization as an angel investor, retired marathon runner) – Entrepreneur Award
  • Jay Mandal - (photojournalist accredited to cover the UN, the State Department, the White House, the Government of India, and many embassies and consulates) – Journalism Award
  • Rajesh Mehra (medical director and principal of Global Medical Center) – Medicine Award
  • Swati Sharma (founder and president of the Swaranjali School of Music) – Arts and Culture Award

Eberly College of Business and Information Technology