RESS: An Exciting, Free Summer Research Program for IUP Students

Posted on 3/5/2018 3:30:32 PM

Participate in cutting-edge, inquiry-based research and scholarship at IUP this summer during the annual Research Experiences for Summer Scholars Program. This 10-week program offers students from all majors a one-of-a-kind, hands-on experience and promises some of the best networking opportunities and professional development events IUP has to offer. You will be amazed by the resources available to you and the quality of original scholarship being created right here on our campus.

Participation in the RESS program is free for all students, and an optional on-campus housing and meal plan is available at a weekly rate. Students can request funding to help offset summer expenses such as housing and food. Typically, half of participating students receive funding ranging from $200 to $1,000. Financial assistance and federal work study is limited, so apply early! We also encourage you to see if there are additional funds to do summer research from your department and to separately apply for an IUP student research grant.

The program is open to all IUP majors. All students who plan to continue at IUP in the fall 2018 semester and have GPAs above 2.0 are welcome to apply. 

Those seeking RESS funding must submit their applications by the March 23 deadline. Applicants who apply by the deadline and are seeking funding will be notified of their acceptance and possibility of award by April 13. Students not seeking funding can submit applications until May 4, 2018.

The program follows IUP’s summer schedule. The traditional 10-week program spans Summer I and II, but you can customize the program by choosing any combination of the following sessions:

  • Early Summer Session: May 14–June 1
  • Summer I: June 4–July 6
  • Summer II: July 9–August 9

More information can be found on the RESS program flyer and the RESS website, which also includes answers to common questions. Additional questions can be addressed to either of the program’s co-directors, Shelly Bouchat and Justin Fair, or the committee members: Nicholas Deardorff, William FarrellRobert Major, and Teresa Shellenbarger.