Comm Media Students Win National Production Awards

Posted on 5/25/2016 11:32:12 AM

IUP’s Center for Media Production and Research (CMPR) was honored with two 2016 Telly Awards; one for Student Video Production of a TV Program and one for Online Video Sports Production.  A broadcast from the Crimson Hawks men’s basketball game played on February 17 against the University of Pittsburgh Johnstown was recognized for both awards.

Members of the Center for Media Production and ResearchWith supervision from CMPR director and Communications  Media faculty member Stephanie Keppich, the live sports production was entirely student-run. “It’s extremely rewarding to know that all of the hard work and dedication these students and I put into these broadcasts is being recognized at a national level,” Keppich said. “I am not surprised because, with my industry experience, I could tell during each broadcast that we were creating a product that could be compared to any regional sport network broadcast.”

With only help from Keppich and Broadcast Technician Chris Barber, student crew members coordinate all aspects of the CMPR’s live production of IUP men’s and women’s basketball and IUP Crimson Hawks football. With five cameras, announcers, a courtside reporter, live graphics, and slow motion replays, the crew works in the fast-paced environment of live sports production.

This year’s CMPR student crew for IUP Crimson Hawks basketball included Tyresha Barnes, Curtis Brown, Denis Caniz, Jake DeLuca, Amanda Dunlop, Joshua Hill, Bill Kline, Erik Kormos, Christina Loranger, Miramar Melendez, Najee Poles, Dustin Ross, Teigan Schrecengost, Samantha Sizer, Ray Solis, Kwame Stroman, Tyrell Walker, and Coltin Warner.

Beyond live sports production, the CMPR offers professional experience for students in production, broadcasting, editing, promotions, photography, and graphics. CMPR crew member Marimar Melendez knows working with the CMPR will help her reach her professional goals. “As a student, being part of a live production has taught me key aspects within my field. I have gained knowledge on the importance of communication between every aspect of production from directing, audio, to cameras and everything in between.”

As recipients of one of this year’s Telly Awards, the CMPR team joins other outstanding local and regional video and cable television productions. The Telly Awards have been honoring some of the top media productions in film, video, Web, and cable commercials for 37 years. Their goal is to “strengthen the visual arts community by inspiring, promoting, and supporting creativity.” Each year, the Telly Awards receive over 10,000 entries from all over the country.

Judges who are members of the Silver Telly Council evaluate entries. Silver Council is a membership-based division of the awards and consists of professionals who have won silver Telly Awards in the past. The judging is based solely on creativity and quality performance rather than entries directly competing against each other. Winners are awarded either a silver or bronze statuette that is created by the same firm that makes the Oscar and Emmy awards.

Department of Communications Media