Women in STEM 2016

Posted on 4/1/2016 2:35:47 PM

The College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics opens the week of IUP events celebrating outstanding research with a program featuring scholarly work of female students and faculty.

On Monday, April 4, the 11th Annual Women in Mathematics, Science and Technology program will begin with a review of selected research laboratories for young women from area high schools, followed by a poster session at 4:30 p.m. in Weyandt Hall celebrating the work of about thirty female students and faculty.

At 5:30 p.m. the poster session will be followed by a panel discussion in 107 Weyandt Hall, featuring two accomplished women who will discuss their career paths in science: Dr. Susan Farabaugh ’04 and Sherrell Kambira. The program will conclude with an awards ceremony and the annual presentation of the Dr. Patricia Hilliard Robertson Memorial Scholarship as well as recognition of best student research posters.

2016 WMST Panelists Sherrell Kambira and Dr. Susan Farabaugh

Sherrell KambiraSherrell Kambira is the Quality Supervisor for Lubrizol Advanced Materials, in Bowling Green, Ohio. She brings with her more than eight years of manufacturing experience in analytical processes, systems management, and employee development in the personal care surfactant industry. Mrs. Kambira oversees the plant quality functions, inventory management, and management of laboratory operations. She has traveled globally as a skilled analytical system resource for plant startups, laboratory training, and as a quality function business resource. Mrs. Kambira holds a Master of Business Administration with a concentration in Production and Manufacturing Management from Bluffton University. She graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry from Bowling Green State University.

 Susan FarabaughDr. Susan Farabaugh is a postdoctoral associate at the Women’s Cancer Research Center in Pittsburgh. Her work concentrates on translational research for the eradication of breast cancer. She was selected as winner of pre-doctoral and post-doctoral fellowships from the Department of Defense Breast Cancer Program to investigate areas such as breast cancer origin, tumor formation, and progression. She earned her PhD in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Center, Denver, Colo., preceded by a BS in Biochemistry and BA in Chemistry from Indiana University of Pennsylvania (Class of 2004). While at IUP, Susan was president and vice president of the American Chemistry Society, and an Alumni Ambassador.