Student Affairs in Higher Education Announces 2016 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

Posted on 3/21/2016 4:07:05 PM

Courtney BaumIndiana University of Pennsylvania’s Department of Student Affairs in Higher Education (SAHE) is pleased to announce Courtney Baum as the recipient of the Ronald Lunardini Distinguished Alumni Award for 2016.  

Baum is a 2000 graduate of SAHE and is currently the director of Saint Vincent College Career Center as well as an adjunct faculty member in the college’s Department of Education. Prior to Saint Vincent, Courtney held career services positions at Carnegie Mellon University in the Heinz College and in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Numerous letters of support from professional colleagues and students were submitted in support of her nomination. A current student commented on “the life-changing impact she has had and will continue to have on every student she encounters,” and a colleague noted her “enthusiasm, organizational skills, and attention to detail is matched by an incredible level of diligence.” Additionally, an alumnus commented, “She is a model alumna: giving back to her alma mater and contributing to the student affairs profession by spending her time and energy helping to prepare new professionals.”

The award selection committee (comprised of faculty, students, and alumni) in their review of the nomination materials for Courtney, unanimously affirmed that she meets and exceeds the award criteria, particularly in the areas of promoting student success, collaborating with colleagues, embracing lifelong learning, and contributing to the profession. 

The award will be presented to Courtney at the annual SAHE banquet on May 5, 2016.

The Ronald Lunardini Distinguished Alumni Award, begun in 2006, was created to acknowledge an alumnus of the SAHE department whose experiences and accomplishments as a student affairs professional significantly reflect the standards and values of the SPS program/SAHE department. In 2008, in recognition of Ron Lunardini’s 37 years of service to IUP (18 as an SAHE faculty member), the award title was changed to honor him.

Department of Student Affairs in Higher Education