Phi Eta Sigma Celebrates 2015 Inductees and National Scholarship Winner

Posted on 5/4/2015 3:34:52 PM

The IUP chapter of the national honor society Phi Eta Sigma welcomed its new inductees in a ceremony held on April 24, 2015, in the Ohio Room. N. Bharathan, professor of Biology, organized and hosted this annual event. Caleb Finegan, professor of history and director of the Cook Honors College, was the keynote speaker.

Mary CheyThe induction ceremony was followed by more to celebrate: Bharathan received news this week that Mary Chey (right), from the IUP chapter of Phi Eta Sigma (current chapter secretary and chapter president-elect), was awarded a Phi Eta Sigma national scholarship in the amount of $6,000. Chey is a sophomore from the Biology Department majoring in cell and molecular biology. As an active member of the society, Chey has established several innovative projects on campus and volunteers her time on events like building a community garden; hosting the university ping pong club; IUP Red Cross Club for AIDS Awareness Week, Adopt-a-Highway project, Four Footed Friends, and Earth Day.

According to chapter adviser Bharathan, nearly 70 students have received $100,000 in national and local scholarships since 1999. The 2014–15 recipients of the National Scholarship include Catherine Zisk and Brianne Lenhart.

Congratulations to Mary Chey and all of the new chapter members!