Biology Professors Honored with Awards for Research

Posted on 4/10/2015 3:03:34 PM
The IUP Research Institute held its 21st Annual Awards Luncheon on April 6. The Biology Department would like to recognize the following Biology faculty:

PI Mentorship Academy: 

Dr. Vida Irani, Infectious Disease and Public Health: Host-Pathogen Interactions, Host Immunity and Cell Signaling, Ecological basis of vector-borne diseases

PI Mentorship Academy:

  Dr. Paul Nealen, Neuroscience and behavior, human and animal physiology, computing/statistics, IACUC

PI Mentorship Academy: 

Dr. Holly Travis, Recruiting rural high school students into public health careers through an extended research partnership assessing zoonotic diseases in local wildlife populations.

Sponsored Programs Award for Outstanding Achievement in Research: 

Dr. Jeffery Larkin. This award is intended to recognize outstanding research, scholarship or creative achievement in any discipline that is externally funded and has as its primary focus the investigation/questioning of data to extend the limited of human knowledge.

Graduate Dean’s Award for Outstanding Commitment to Sponsored Programs: 

Dr. Jeffery Larkin. This award is intended to recognize an IUP researcher who has demonstrated “long-term” and extraordinary success in securing external support for research, public service or creative activity and shows a commitment to IUP’s mission.