Biology Personnel Changes for 2014–2015

Posted on 8/18/2014 10:48:49 AM

The Department of Biology is very happy to welcome several new faculty members, while we congratulate several others and say farewell to two of our colleagues.

Please join us in welcoming David Janetski (aquatic ecologist) and Michael Tyree (applied plant ecologist) to the Biology faculty. We are confident that David and Michael will be excellent additions to our department.

It is with mixed emotions that we bid farewell to Sandra Newell and Tammi Reckhart, who retired from Biology. We wish Sandy and Tammi retirements that are long, healthy, and happy.

N. Bharathan is the new chairman of Biology, and Melanie Muscatello is our new administrative assistant. As always, the Biology departmental office (114 Weyandt) is the point location for inquiries and concerns related to our department.

Congratulations to Joe Duchamp (associate professor), Megan Knoch (associate professor), Bob Major (associate professor) and Bob Hinrichsen (professor) on their recent promotions.

Several faculty will be taking time off from the classroom for sabbatical. Amadu Ayebo, Bob Hinrichsen, and Carl Luciano will be on sabbatical for the fall 2014 semester, while Paul Nealen will be on sabbatical for all of 2014–2015.

As our department continues to evolve, we remain steadfast in our mission to serve IUP and its students. Here’s to an exciting new academic year!

Department of Biology