Thirty Students Inducted into New IUP Chapter of National Biological Honor Society

Posted on 6/12/2013 1:40:04 PM

This spring IUP welcomed Omega Theta, a new chapter of Beta Beta Beta National Biological Honor Society, with officer and member induction ceremonies in April and May that recognized 30 students for their academic success in the biological sciences.

Robert Major, assistant professor of Biology, is director of the IUP chapter, which includes students in the Biology and Natural Sciences programs.

Tri-Beta, founded in 1922 at Oklahoma City University, is a national society for students in biology-related fields. Its mission is to promote the biological sciences and encourage biological research.

Omega Theta inducted its first officers on April 10, 2013, in a ceremony led by Steven Ropski, professor of biology at Gannon University and district director of Tri-Beta.

The following students were inducted as officers:

  • Ryan Wasilchak, President
  • Eric Harbison, Vice President
  • Samantha Borsos, Secretary
  • Catherine Krygeris, Treasurer
  • Erin Kelley, Historian

On May 1, Omega Theta inducted 25 students as members for Fall 2013–Spring 2014 in a ceremony attended by students and faculty in the Department of Biology.

The following students were inducted as members:

  • Abbie Bender
  • Samantha Eichelberger
  • Heather Fassinger
  • Katy Ann Feather
  • Richard Gatesman
  • Alexandra Goldring
  • Matthew Grassi
  • Courtney Harmon
  • Megan Kahle
  • Kaitlyn Lasky
  • Meghan Mack
  • Stephanie Martin
  • Ava McEachern
  • Sarah McLean
  • Noriko Mikeasky
  • April Mitchell
  • Laura Murdaugh
  • Alexis Ophaug
  • Luke Piper
  • Julie Scott
  • Elisha Swindell
  • George Tickerhoof III
  • Colleen Trostle
  • Mary Simone Welsh
  • Page Wisniewski

Congratulations to all of the Honor Society members!