Kappa Delta Pi Initiation Ceremony 2013

Posted on 6/5/2013 11:56:42 AM

The initiation ceremony for Kappa Delta Pi, the International Honor Society in Education, took place in Keith Hall on April 27, 2013.

Ryan Devlin, 2013 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year, was the keynote speaker at the Initiation Ceremony for the Beta Gamma Chapter at IUP. Devlin is an English teacher at Brockway High School. He is a nominee for National Teacher of the Year and will travel to the oval office to meet President Obama next spring.

Kappa Delta Pi also welcomed the 2013 College of Education-Educational Technology Distinguished Alumni recipient, Patricia Barthalow Koch (’72). Koch addressed the group on the topics of leadership and service. She is a professor in Health Education at Pennsylvania State University.

Beatrice Fennimore, professor of Education, Department of Professional Studies in Education, conducted a workshop for the initiates on the topic of civility. DeAnna Laverick, associate professor, Department of Professional Studies in Education, was recognized with the Excellence in Education Award. Joann Migyanka, associate professor, Department of Special Education and Clinical Services, was recognized with the Service to Chapter Award. Laverick and Migyanka are the cocounselors of Kappa Delta Pi, Beta Gamma Chapter. The 2012–2013 officers are: Heather Stauffer and Brooke Gery, copresidents; Maeve Wilson, vice president and membership chairperson; Kelli Bowe, secretary; Samantha Starr, treasurer; and Kaitlyn Donegan, historian.

Professional Studies in Education